You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you can dream it, you can Steemit: Stop the excuses and own life like a boss.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Thank you for sharing your story bridgetbunchy, I love your sewing! Do you think there is something about becoming a mum that is also a great motivator to start creating the life that you actually want to live? Some people think that having children creates a barrier to working for yourself but I think with creative women like us it can be opportunity to rethink, reorganise ourselves, and start to pursue what we really want out of life. P.S I love Hong Kong too!

Sort:  

The funny thing is that i know many people who have quit their job because of steemit.
They were good publishers before it, and now steemit is their first source of income, that is incredible! :D

I would have to agree with you about motherhood @opheliafu. Watching your children grow is a great motivator for sure. I also think that working for yourself is ideal for being a mum. I have far more time to spend with my daughters each day. Hong Kong is great. Most of our time was spent in China so I would love to go back to Hong Kong to have a real good poke around. I heard there is actually some op-shops there too (which I love) and I was curious to see what sort of things it would have but lacked the time and it rained so much too which made street walking with a pram tricky. I like to think of my sewing style as a bit of a modern take on patchwork. I am a textile hoarder. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

I do a bit of sewing (not very good at it) but I have an electric brother machine and 2 old singer machines (more for show than to use). I'm really a painter and digital artist, but occasionally I like to have a go at making fabric flowers or bunting, maybe the odd cushion or curtain.
I don't know about your experiences but a lot of part time work available to mums is either low paid or unsociable hours, so you do start to look for alternatives and that's when you become an entrepreneur.
I have never heard of op-shops, just had to do a google ;)!

I mostly get vintage fabric from op-shops. That is what we call them in Australia. I think Americans call them thrift shops. It is usually a volunteer run store that sells secondhand items, mainly clothes to raise money for charity. They are a wealth of cool finds.

We call them charity shops in the UK, but I recognise thrift store.

👍amazing post, enjoy ur travelling Mrs...., also very cute kids

aaaa GREAT MOM XD ...and cute twin XD

upvote done @bridgetbunchy

let's dance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45