2019 Resolution #1: YOU ARE NOT THE FIRST...

in #life5 years ago

FB_IMG_15458214294797633.jpg
I can vividly remember my days in the pre-primary. Mama will pet me and beg me to go to school. She will a times leave her chores and walk me down to school.

Yes you are right, I never witnessed a school bus while growing up. I thought I will enjoy this pampering forever. I always made boast of being the last born, with the hope that no one will steal my position in the family. All the pampering, mother's time, attention and care are all mine.

Later I grew to be a little man in high school. Mum always made sure I eat and go to school before she leaves for the days duty. I always felt her presence. Her body scent was always on me. But something happened after my JSSCE

I woke up by 7:15am as usual, hoping I will bath, and go fetch the food in the kitchen to meet up the school assembly by 7:30am.

Lo and behold, mum left the house without making my breakfast. I was mad. I was very angry. I didn't know what to do. Should I stay back from school?

No...Dad's cane are not always friendly.

I went into the kitchen, steamed the soup...(yes there was no tea)...prepared and went to school. The headmasters strokes are still aching me about 10years after.

When I came back and asked mum, "Why you leave me comot, I no see my food for kitchen?"

Guess her reply,

" Are you the first? , you think na only you be my responsibility? Everyone in this house enjoyed same attention and time like you till JSSCE. Now is time to GROW UP."

LESSON: You are not the only one who owns a car. You are not the only one who owns a house in Lekki. You're not the first to become a governor.

You know the bad news?

YOU WON'T BE THE LAST...

learn to make use of every single opportunity you have. Never be proud of what you have or who you are. Your gateman can as well be what you are when he takes to JSSCE. ..

©Onyema Courage

#BeNice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97