You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why belief in anything is a bold faced lie.

in #life7 years ago

right.. guess we can't know any truths..
like the fact that we are breathing oxygen right now lol ?
nihilism fails because of its performative contradiction.

Sort:  

That is not at all what I have said. A belief is not necessarily a truth and this post has absolutely nothing to do with nihilism.

All I am saying is that a belief is akin to a lie that you tell yourself - it is not usually true and not absolute.

We can perceive something but have to change that perception based on a newly recognized truth.

With a belief, you can totally disregard new information because it is not in line with what you believe.

I see belief as locked perception.

I completely agree with you @colored-content. Your post was only meant as means to question what is believed.

All I am saying is that a belief is akin to a lie that you tell yourself - it is not usually true and not absolute.

What if I believe in an absolute? It would be my belief, but it would at the same time be an absolute.

And I absolutely agree that we should question our held beliefs, but I disagree with the notion that simply because one believes something it is more or less likely to be true. My belief does not effect the truth value of an object or proposition.

And I absolutely agree that we should question our held beliefs, but I disagree with the notion that simply because one believes something it is more or less likely to be true.

Perhaps I didn't explain it well enough; Ill admit that.

What was meant to be said is that - from my perception and under standing - belief is a perception that does not change - even with new info; thus a belief is almost always wrong because it is a perception that doesn't change.

Again, this is just my perception based on my own definitions of the words.

But, if you believe in an absolute value, your belief should have no reason to change.

then that is not a belief, obviously; it is an absolute reality.

From my perspective at least.

To me, a belief is just a perception...the only difference being that a belief does not have to change with new information.

Thus, if we are ignoring information, we are lying to ourselves.

To me, a belief is just a perception...the only difference being that a belief does not have to change with new information.

Does absolute reality?

Thus, if we are ignoring information, we are lying to ourselves.

Absolutely agreed.

Does absolute reality?

Does it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35