Yin Yoga - A Precursive Essay to a Practical Series

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Outline

My goal is to explain how it is a desirable experience to be free of thought and emotion, or mind. I will then relate this to flexibility training and how that allows one to return to a naturally free state of being.

NOTE: the pictures throughout are more to break up the text and supply some visual artistic flair, as apposed to relate exactly to the topic being written about.

Part 1 – Theory

176690838_2a1511.jpg

Being Self Centered is Being Free

If there is no one around, the tree makes no sound when it falls. Not only that but it never fell at all.

To be able to distinguish between what is real and unreal is a very important ability if one wants to attain to true freedom. True discrimination is being able to see what is false and what is true. The basis for this practice is to know that whatever is going on around me right here, right now, is true, is real.

Whereas anything that I am not experiencing right now and can only happen inside my mind is not real, it is untrue.

My life is as free as I can live this simple principle.

If one is always swayed by thoughts and emotions then one is living a lie. As if I am truly living, truly alive, I have no need of emotions or thoughts. There is just bliss. Food and water find their way to me if they are needed for the body. No fear or desire needed.

A Fun Thought Experiment

Meditator-Wallpaperf79a9.jpg

So although it seems words are so obviously needed and used to convey apparent 'meaning' to fulfill needs and desires, one has to wonder at how one is even programmed to 'understand' one language but be baffled by another.

How does one even begin to find meaning in a given language?

This idea has long intrigued me, as it serves as a quick discrimination tool to cut the very idea of meaning away instantly.

For example, if I look at the Chinese pictographs of say the Cantonese or Mandarin I may be emotionally stimulated to think they look beautiful and elegantly artistic. But I would not find meaning. Equally, if I were to hear these languages spoken there would be no meaning. So this relative nature of language is like a trap for slaves, at the highest level.

044-Upanishads-Meditation-on-the-Door-keepers-Vayu-and-the-Heart-Chakra1b8fc1.jpg

Ultimately, the light around me right now will always exist to magically assume mental and physical forms that experience motion. As I become aware of this process I become more joyful. I at the center project out for the world around me to exist, as it is reflected back to the center and then observed. As without me at the center nothing could exist. It is magical and mysterious and requires no meaning, only knowing.

The Real Birthday Is When You Realize You Were Never Born and Will Never Die

11417462_873723616038223_1578644300_n808a9.jpg

I don't identify with an age. I am ageless. So I also don't identify with a time period other than now - as the only time is now. I don't identify my body as being all that is me. All that is me is all that I see and all that I see is me.

At the highest level it is all light, perfect unlimited energy taking form each moment as the blue sky, the green grass, and anything I may see. When I glimpse and can know this then age is of no relevance at all. It is just an appearance of things. I can look at someone old and they may have more energy than someone half their apparent age. So it is not age or what you look like, but the experience you live that matters most.

Can you remember being a ‘you’ before you had your first memory? Do you even remember being a body? Yet you have been told by ‘others’ that you existed, that you had a ‘birth’. You were shown photos of a ‘birthday’ you cannot recall. You stare at them as if looking upon something other than you. Yet all the while there was a judgmentless whiteness silently viewing all the scenes. So many scenes, so many millions of billions of trillions of frames per second up until now. Now where the 1 second loop of now continues to flow, providing ever new and unique experience each moment, fresh and alive.

Part 2 – Practicality

discovery_so_clear_by_parablev-d3c9rfr82788.jpg

The Necessity for Passive Stretching as the Most Beneficial Form of Exercise

Amazing really, the phenomenon of experience being something viewable as a body and all that surrounds it, yet myself at the very center being really nothing at all but a eternal observer of motion, things arranging ever differently as the moment loops.

So how do I change my loop of now to an ever higher positive, joyful one?

For me it was found in getting to a near contortion level of flexibility by stretching in a passive manner, otherwise known as Yin Yoga.

You see as the body accumulates tension what is talked about as mind in thought and word seems to emerge as a ‘real’ thing. This can be experientially seen as simple and true by every person by this one common experience in the following example. When you were a child your first memory may have been at a few ‘years’. Then as the years go by memory or mind becomes more mysteriously and miraculously complicated.

tumblr_static_3481fatyzyucgoc84wscs8g0ce42fd.jpg

This is because when the body is very small and still growing to full size it has perfect balance, it is free of too much tension. But as you age into your first decade, then teenage years and adulthood it’s usually the case that a body become less flexible and by extension the mind more complex. There are a few beings that remain free of mental and physical slavery. But most become more slaves unto themselves.

So it’s been my experience that as I become more flexible I become more childlike, more free, appreciate the beauty all around each moment with more and more depth, more presence. Really, it’s more than a light stretch that I watch this body go through regularly, yet simpler than what many see as the conventional or stereotypical yoga routines.

I like to simplify flexibility training as follows:

1a) Front and 1b) back bends
2a) Front Splits and 2b) Side splits

…and that is it...nothing else...not 10, 20, 50 or 100 different postures, just these four basic postures, four simple stretches.

The mind loves complication. Indeed the mind is a disease of complication that enslaves. So there is really no need for complicated routines, as mental slavery will bring physical slavery and that is how many get trapped in a negative level of experience.

Just imagine the first people who naturally started to stretch. They would have without thought leaned all the way forward and touched their toes and raised again, or leaned backwards, hands extended up high, to then reach behind and touch a tree. I try to keep my training as simple as this.

geo580f84.jpg

Stretching is a natural, easy, enjoyable and immensely relaxing experience IF done effectively. Effective here is being able to bring about deeper and deeper levels of relaxation, as this will bring true peace and serenity.

Yin Yoga is such an effective method because I do not actively engage any core muscles and work with gravity, allowing my body to deepen into the posture. As a result I get more flexible quicker and those gains last longer.

Sure I watched people stretch, and went to a few 'yoga' classes. But eventually I realized that in order to become as flexible as possible all I had to do was increase as much as possible the flexibility of my hip joints, as it was the largest joint in the body. For this I do front and side splits, and a few variations of them to either prepare or go beyond the usual 180 degree splits into over-splits.

2016_03_08_17_02_713029_3c94ec.jpg

I also incorporate back bends and front bends when performing the front and side splits. In fact the two are worked simultaneously, there is no separation. As I attempt a front split it is natural to want to lean forward to try and touch my toes and then lean backward as much as possible. It is not a rule, but a mode of balance that if the body goes forward it then should flow backward. This is the same for lateral twists. However, it is great to simply focus on front and back bends for some time too.

So that is it. Next to come will be a vlog series focusing on each aspect of the exercises. I hope you will join me.


If you would like to see more future content from me - which will include a number of ongoing series - then be sure to Follow @onesunbeingnow

Sort:  

perfect :)

"mental slavery will bring physical slavery"--we find that to be true! Thanks for sharing your perspective and the value of physical stretching @onesunbeingnow! We enjoy the mental, emotional, and spiritual changes that accompany intentional physical actions. The formless is indeed inseparable from the form...

I'm glad you enjoyed reading the article :) and AMEN to the latter half of your comment :)

It's a really high-quality essay. I saw the same only here https://libraryofessays.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71