Did You Know Bamboo is Grass?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

img

Why I Love Bamboo as a Building Material!

Bamboo is part of the grass family. Bamboo has a higher tensile strength than steel, compression strength than concrete plus is very light and affordable. Bamboo grows very fast and can be used in very high end projects.

One of the coolest bamboo houses I saw was in Maui where I lived, it was an oval shape with a few circular pods that were connected to the house and contained spare rooms and a master bedroom.

img

Bali Bamboo

The image above is of a beautiful structure at a place called Akasha not far outside Ubud, Bali. They used curved Bamboo, which I've seen once before in Hawaii. The bamboo is heated and I beleive steamed and held by jigs for some time then it remains curved.

Bamboo can last 10 years or longer, there are different types of bamboo and they have different properties and some bugs like to eat others bugs will stay away from. Bamboo does grow very fast but it also takes time for it to fill in and must not be harvested until it is mature or else it won't last.

Cement?

I currently live in a beautiful community that is nestled in nature, although the entire complex is made out of cement. When I've lived in bamboo structures in the past, I felt infinitely more connected to nature.

I envision a world where bamboo is a primary building material and the architecture is of a very high level as I'm used to. Please upvote and resteem this article so that more people can learn about the benefits of using bamboo, not only cost and sustainability but quality of living.

img

Photo cred: @samstonehill

Sort:  

bamboo is so versatile and it grows like weeds! Just an awesome plant to use for just about anything

Yes, bamboo is amazing!! My favorite material for sure :)

Yup! So is sugarcane, which is why it is PACKED with phytonutrients, and one of the most nutritious natural drinks in the world. Building stuff with bamboo, for me, is like playing with legos, except that you actually have a FUNCTIONAL structure in the end. Upvoted, ReSteemed and followed....

@transcript-junky I didn't know this about phytonutrients and sugarcane. Thanks so much!!

Bamboo is lovely... I have it for flooring, here in my office... it gives a nice "warmth" and softness to an otherwise somewhat stark space.

Incidentally, the t-shirt I am wearing right now is also part bamboo!

@reddragonfly I've never heard of bamboo clothing, that's super interesting! Yes, it does have a warmth and aliveness to it

Nice post @onecliffd, waiting for more ;)
Upvoted & resteemed...

BOOOM!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79