A Touch of Nostalgia

in #life6 years ago

1867 was a common year

starting on Tuesday of the Gregorian calendar and a common year starting on Sunday of the Julian calendar, the 1867th year of the Common Era (CE) and Anno Domini (AD) designations, the 867th year of the 2nd millennium, the 67th year of the 19th century, and the 8th year of the 1860s decade. As of the start of 1867, the Gregorian calendar was 12 days ahead of the Julian calendar, which remained in localized use until 1923.
Wikipedia

camera download 946.JPG

Now, I'm not normally very nostalgic

but when I saw the above fountain during a trip to Switzerland a few years ago, I was struck by memories of all the hoopla I experienced in 1967 when my native country, Canada, celebrated its 100th birthday.

I guess there had been quite a party

a hundred years earlier, in 1867
at the birth of the Canadian nation, too!

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

1867Canadaa_094.jpg

July 1, 1867

On July 1 1867, at noon, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and the Province of Canada were proclaimed the Dominion of Canada, with John A. Macdonald its first prime minister.
Now, the area of Upper Canada was called Ontario and Lower Canada was called Quebec.

In most parts of the new Dominion, it was a dazzling sunny day. The reverberation of a brass band could be heard in many towns.

In Toronto, children were given Union Jacks to wave and an ox was roasted in front of St. Lawrence Hall, with the meat then distributed to the poor.

In Ottawa, a military review on Parliament Hill fired a salute. The soldiers forgot to take the ramrods out of their rifles and the iron rods arched over Sparks Street.
http://www.cbc.ca/history/EPCONTENTSE1EP8CH6PA2LE.html

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

ouzo and out,
@onceuponatime

Sort:  

I draw this for you and i post it in a post but you didn't see it 🤕 unfontently.
20180605_174319-01.jpeg

Are you saying that I have a big head? LoL

Lol no that's a caricature you have a normal head i will draw a portrait version for you and your head will look normal again 😂 feel free to check out my blog to see my portraits

History is a beautiful thing that I feel in this fast paced world we do not value enough. Sad. but thank you for bringing light to this with our neighbor Canada.

Isn't there some saying about those who don't learn from history are doomed to repeat it? (and who would want to have to start Canada a second time LoL)

@onceuponatime,
Like all these histories, one day the world will celebrate the Birth day of BitCoin, BitShares, Steem! Coz they are leading the world to breaks all these scammy government boundaries of money!
(Now I wish you might think I went crazy lol :D)

Cheers~

An Ox! For the poor! In my day they were given ham!

It was just soup kitchens for me :-)

Dashed youngsters ;O)

67 in the States meant one thing: Vietnam. I was drafter, being only one year old ;)

And it's one, two, three,
What are we fighting for?
Don't ask me
I don't give a damn
Next stop is Vietnam.
(Country Joe and the Fish)

Just think! Not over 60 years old and Canadians came up with hockey :)
A good nation. I bow before the creators of hockey :)

You didn't mention whether this picture was taken by you or @twiceuponatime!

Now they are soon going to celebrate their 151st birthday!!
The fountain looks very strange by the way :P

Everything is starting to look very strange to me these days :-)

you taught us a little history!!! :)))
where you took the pic?

The pic was taken in Switzerland.

Its beautiful how one small thing can trigger such a detailed memory which was suppressed but consciousness for so long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54