Pasta In The Wind

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Pasta.jpg
Photo by: @Omra-Sky - Sony Handycam


Pasta. So simple. So much a part of my life. It's so usual, that I don't spend much time thinking about it. I mean really thinking about it. But, when I do really think about it, my thoughts also take me to a backyard. A backyard with clotheslines.

You see, my maternal grandparents immigrated from Italy in the 1930's(I think). I never got the opportunity to know them. All I have are pictures and the stories my mom has shared. Her father died when she was still a child and her mother died shortly after I was born. There's a picture hanging in my parents house of my grandmother cradling me in her arms. She's just looking down at me with this big, proud smile on her face. Someone recently asked me what's the earliest memory I have. I swear I can remember her staring down at me.

They lived a simple life. Food was always fresh. Home-grown and home-made whenever possible. Especially pasta. She always made her own pasta. The best part...she would dry the long noodles on clotheslines in the backyard. It makes me smile to picture a bunch of pasta swaying in the breeze.

I hope I get to really meet her some day.

LogoStrip - Copy - Copy.JPG

Thanks to @MarianneWest for hosting this daily freewrite!
To join the fun, here's today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-40-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pasta

Sort:  

what beautiful memories to have!!!

and a heartwarming read!!

Thanks. Life was so much more simple back then and people were happier.

personally, I think they hid their unhappiness better, judging from my Mom......

BUT there were less stressful things to interfere with family life so I think that's where the happier cames from too :D

True. I can only assume since I wasn't around. But I think we can all agree, the less stress the better. 🌅

@ering has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @omra-sky! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a wonderful first memory! Thank you for sharing. As for meeting her someday, if so, I bet she will love all of the stories that you have to tell her and that you'll get to see her smile again.

Maybe more of those prompts will bring up memories of those stories. I am being more and more drawn to write what I remember. We lost so much of our family history the old aunties would tell us because nobody wrote it down and memories are not so good anymore (mine). I think we have so many more experiences now that the history keeping through story telling is lost.....
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-41-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-the-goat-ate-my

Absolutely. Writing has brought out more than I ever imagined possible.

And that is so cool!!

Beautiful photo and I really enjoyed your memories of the pasta hanging like socks in the breeze!

Thank you. It's a great visual.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71