Talking to your kids about "birds & bees"

in #life5 years ago


Source

The general consensus is that the "birds and bees" talk should start with your kids when they are 12 to 13 years old. I am of the opinion that parents need to start talking as soon as it is necessary. Our kids are exposed to so much these days especially via the internet and television. These mediums push sex at them all the time and I think it's better to educate them sooner rather than later. My girls are 10 and 11 (going on 12) and I have already begun to talk to them about these things. I try not too share too much with them so as not to confuse them but I am very particular about the basics. What I do is to listen carefully to their conversation about school, friends, church and other social activities. I subtly butt in with a little bit of "the talk" whenever the opportunity arises especially when the conversation has something to do with the subject of concern. They know the body parts that are off limits to other people, they know to speak up quickly if anyone tries to mess with them and they know a few self-defense tactics to be used if the need ever arises. It was a little scary when I found out that they already had a good idea of where babies come from long before I thought they should have; thanks to movies and school friends. Despite the gravity of the talk that day, it was hilarious to find out that Barbie actually thought babies were "pooed" out and I won't ever forget the shocked look on her face when I corrected her. It has been interesting watching them grow into their teens and I keep praying for the wisdom to say and do the right things to and for them to ensure the become responsible teenagers.

Sort:  

oh i agree 100%

If we are not the ones talking to our children - someone else will - certainly!

Best that we control the situation and do diligence in giving them the facts in a way that shows them it is natural and good (in the right circumstances of course!)

and Barbie LOLOL i can imagine the look of shock! hahahahahahaha

You are absolutely right!Thanks for this vote of confidence. lol, i wish i captured that look...it was epic

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69406.62
ETH 3942.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61