Rapé - Sacred shamanic medicine from the Amazon

in #life6 years ago

Rapé

1.jpg
Rapé (Rume) is a powder that is blown into the nose.
In the Yawanawa tradition, it contains ashes from the sacret Zunu tree and sundried tabacco, grinded into a fine powder. Other tribes use other plants as well.

Rapé can be applied in two ways:

  1. You blow it into your own nose (with a Kuripi)
    kuripi.jpg

  2. Another person blows it into your nose (with a Tepi)
    tepi.jpg

Rapé amplifies the prayers.
-Yawanawa

When the medicine is blown, it's always with a specific intention.
Before a shaman performs a healing on another person, he's given Rapé for strength and clarity.

The effect of this medicine is influenced by the following factors:

  1. Rapé mixture
    Some tribes have stronger mixtures than others. There's for example a green Rapé (without tabacco), which is soft and good for meditation. Other mixtures on the other hand are very strong and made me immediately trow up.

  2. The amount given
    In Yawanawa tradition you choose between a soft, medium or strong dose.
    I've never gone above a medium dose, since (when given by a shaman) the force of the medicine is so strong for me, that I'm hardly able to sit up straight.

  3. The person blowing
    The intention while blowing Rapé is important.
    A stronger intention means a stronger effect.
    Also the type of blow (soft, strong, short, long..) is of value.
    One shaman often used some sort of impuls blow on me, while he opened and closed the pipe with his tongue while blowing, creating a fast "tuk-tuk-tuk" sound.

  4. The applikator
    Yawanawa Tepis are made from animal bones, with ornaments and gem stones.
    Some Tepis are very powerful, made from bones of sacred and strong animals.
    They are only used for specific healing purposes and considered a "weapon".
    I experienced the same amount Rapé from one person once with a "normal" Tepi and once with a "special" one. It made a significant difference in the effect I felt.

Many tribes use Rapé during Ayahuasca ceremonys, which can be very supportive.

How does it feel?
Before the medicine is applied, I take a deep breath and close my throat (like before diving under water). A quick eye contact with the person giving the medicine
and then I put the Tepi into my nose.
The blow doen't feel comfortable, the medicine burnes in the nose. Sometimes the effect is so overwhelming, that I need a few seconds to get myself together for the second blow.

"If you blow the Rapé only on one side, a big bird comes in the night and eats your nose" - Yawanawa

The effect comes very fast, within the next minute my heart starts beating faster, my breath is deepening and my mind is clear and empty.
I'm not thinking, just beeing present. Feeling my body and the force of the medicine...
a "tingeling" sensation in the head area or the whole Body, heat rising up from inside, a force rushing through my body.

It can be very calming, also very overwhelming

As the force gets stronger quickly, I start to feel dizzy and sick in my stomach. I try to sit still, upright, and keep to focus inside my body. Usually I trow up eventually.

Rapé gets you into alignment with yourself.
-Yawanawa

Everything not in alignment usually gets cleared out the body,
on the top or bottom end, or both.

During and after my cleansing, I feel relieved and thankfull. Even though I don't know what I puke out, it feels like getting rid of old emotions or something heavy, I was carrying around with me.
The effect usually weakens within 15 - 20 minutes.

A few days ago, my partner recieved her first strong Rapé from a Yawanawa shaman.
She ended up lieing on the floor under a cold shower, where I somehow managed to put her, not even able to lift her head or a cup of water, to drink something.
It took her over an hour to be able to stand up again.

The force of the Rapé can be very strong and exhausting.
Sometimes I ended up lieing on my ceremony mattress, sweating like hell, trying to aim in my bucket and not able to do anything else.

The medicine of Rapé has a strong power and should be approached with respect.
Used in the right way, this medicine can bring a lot of healing.

Images: 1, 2, 3
Sort:  

I would like to try it

Congratulations @omnipresence! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62504.18
ETH 2430.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60