What is Procrastination : Success of Failure | What it results into? How to cure this disease which has no medicine?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Everyone is a victim of it, at some point or the other in life.

Procrastination has existence even before Benjamin Franklin founded the United States as a father. A very famous line said by Abraham Lincoln says, “You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”

The strange thing here is we all know it is a harmful thing but we ignore and continue doing so. Do you like to procrastinate? If you ask me, I don't. But to be honest with you, even I was a victim of the same and maybe I become one occasionally too.

Image courtesy: https://www.facebook.com/Procrastionation/

Let's understand what exactly it means first:

Procrastination is the practice of giving more preference to and executing tasks which have lesser priority over those which higher priority.Another symptom includes putting more focus on and enjoying pleasure despite performing the action of higher priority and delaying it ultimately.

Results of Procrastination includes:

-High Stress
-Depression
-Lowering of self-esteem
-Anxiety

Guys, please understand it. It is a real serious crap! Procrastination is a sign of poor regulation or control on our own self. Scientists also have related it to alcohol abuse. I have experienced it since years and today also I experience the same until I act on it.

How it captures your brain and how to get rid of it?

Procrastination always begins with just one small thing. You are reading a case study and then you are focused as it is something that interests you but after some time a notification pops up on screen saying the football match is starting in next 5 minutes and then you say, "Let's see who scores first?". And you're done!

Here is a list of effective solutions based on the research:
1.Deadlines which are self-imposed
2.Eating healthy food, having a diet which is healthy
3.Studying or Working in intervals so fatigue can be prevented as much as possible
4.30 minutes of exercise a day makes a huge difference. The beginning of your day decides how your day will be ahead. It starts like a lazy lump, it ends with chips in your hands and a TV in front of you.
5.Eliminating as many distractions as possible will help your brain stay focused.
And last but not the least, Self-motivation is the best motivation. Your internal motivation will help you do the things listed above.

When I was immersed in the ocean of Procrastination, my mentor of life, my elder brother taught me this once:
Remember this tip by me in life, Whenever you plan to do anything in life, ask yourself three questions:
1.What I will do?
2.Why am I doing it?
3.How am I going to do it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61