Life Lessons: What Being on a Sports Team Taught MesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!



So yesterday I was waiting in my chiro's wait room, sipping on my lemon water and flipping through a magazine when I came across an interesting article. It was very short but did not fail to catch my attention. I didn't think I would write about this so I did not take the name down... sorry (sad face).

Like I said, the article caught my attention and got me thinking. It got me thinking about how I became who I am today and what made me grow into being this person. The answer that came to my mind was short and sweet: SPORTS. Although so many more factors were involved, I have learned most while being out on the field and training with a team. I have been competing with horses for well over ten years now and have learned SO MUCH doing so.

Let's be honest, humans learn most through personal experience. They can embody the lessons they learn over the course of the rest of their lives. I know for a fact that whatever I have learned from sports will be useful to me in my future. I study business and we can agree that most business jobs require amazing teamwork skills, teamwork skills that can be strengthened through participating in team sports.

So what have I learned?

  • How to be the leader the team needed me to be
  • Asking for help is OK
  • How to control emotions
  • Making mistakes is part of the process
  • How to trust yourself and others
  • With hard work you can achieve a lot
  • How to self-reflect
  • You can overcome adversity with the right mindset
  • Body language speaks louder than your voice
  • Before success comes failure, and sports teach you both
  • Excuses won't bring you anywhere
  • Embrace your mistakes

I would love to have some feedback on this article!!! What have you learned through sports? What helped you become who you are today? What do you think about my post?

Sort:  

I can definitely imagine working with animals would teach you patience while making mistakes and I like the no excuse attitude!
Skateboarding has taught me to be grateful for just the chance to get outside, ride, and enjoy the nice weather

Yes. Working with horses as a teen has thought me a lot! I can see how skateboard would do the same!

Nice post. I can maybe suggest taking 3 or 4 lessons and descibing exactly how you learned them. And why they are important. Listing the lessons do not make them memoriable. You have a really good writing style.

Thanks! Will definitely do this, awesome

I learnt the same 12 points playing football. Great article :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54