Computer says 'no'

in #life7 years ago

I remember first seeing the sketch in the Tv show 'little Brittain over 10 years ago where a woman would answer a questions in correspondence to what a computer says . The answer would always be no . I find as the years progress more authorities, government organisations and even bank employees seem to use an similar system . People's judgement , reasoning and conmon sense are been taken over by computer systems . its increasing more difficult to get a lot of business sorted . I find the UK particularly bad in this sense . Being Irish and having lived in Australia I found authorities and people in authoritive positions much easier to work with in both places . I went into a Lloyds bank in Manchesteryesterrsay to withdraw cash as my card wasen't working . The woman working there explained I would need my Id and a working bank card to let me withdraw . I explained that only reason I was trying to withdraw was due to my card not working and that it's out of my control . Having my Id and clearly able to answer any questions she repeated "you need a working bank card ' . Getting frustrated at this stage i called for a manger who re-iterated what the woman behind the desk had said . Haviny my identification in my hand and willing is I answer any questions on my account I was in dismay of the ridiculousness of the situation . She told me they'd issue a new card and that the area manager was in the following day and maybe she could sanction me to withdraw cash. All this because the chip in my card which they issued was not working . Given up and feeling very annoyed I opted to just use my Irish card to withdraw from a different account . I thought to myself how outrageous the world can be nowadays , how people are programmed like robots and they're ability to think logically is often taken away from them . We really do live with n a 'computer says no ' environment .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64296.25
ETH 3182.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55