Tough Year for Our Family

in #life5 years ago (edited)

This year has been tough on our family. So many losses and deaths have happened in 2018.

It started in February with my aunt, the dad’s sister, passing away after a courageous and drawn-out – but ultimately losing – battle with cancer that lasted years. It was a huge blow for our entire family, especially for dad and for my aunt’s only daughter – my cousin ten years my junior, who has two little daughters of her own.

Then my cat passed away as a result of unknown illness that prevented her from eating and drinking in her last weeks. Her suffering in the last days was great, as she was in pain and couldn’t take any nourishment.

Then this summer my mom’s much younger cousin (so my cousin, once removed) abruptly passed away at the age of 35 after having been severely beaten by her husband. She left behind a 2-years old daughter, of whom my mom tried to take care, together with other remaining relatives. Then, just a few weeks after that, her husband – who probably caused her death in the first place – himself died as a result of a rapid infection. His body could have probably fought it off, if it were healthy. But it was so worn off by years of drugs and alcohol abuse, that he surrendered to the infection before the doctors could do anything. His parents were devastated. And her little daughter was suddenly an orphan – just like her mom was, as she was growing up.

Then a few weeks ago my maternal grandma broke her hip. She couldn’t walk or even move much after that, so my mom and dad were taking of her in their home since the accident. Unfortunately, it led to other complications, both physical and psychological. The grandma couldn’t even recognise her own daughter (my mom) and was fighting the people who tried to help her. Also, most medicines she was taking had severe adverse side-effects, which only made matters worse. She was suffering both physically and mentally. In the end she simply gave up. First she refused food and a little later after that stopped drinking water. She passed away in the beginning of this week. Honestly, it was a relief for the family, as it meant she didn’t have to suffer anymore and could finally rest in peace, after a long, meaningful, but tough life that seen war, hunger, poverty and all kinds of losses. Her husband, my grandpa, was heartbroken by the loss of his life partner. He’s over 90 himself and his health is fragile…

Grandma’s funeral took place earlier today. The weather was lovely and sunny. The grandma had a new dress on. There were about 15 people in attendance who came to say goodbye. I couldn’t attend myself, as I’m living in a different country and coudn’t come home on that short notice. Although I did say my goodbyes a day before in church, when I lit a candle for the grandma.

Soon this year will be over. I guess we all are eager to leave 2018 behind us. Hopefully the coming year will be easier on our family.

text11.png




Sort:  

So sorry Oleg. Only time can reduce the emotional trouble a loved ones passing brings, and you have many to deal with.

My prayers are with you Oleg.

May the best of what happened in 2018 be the worst that will happen xin 2019. You have lost so many people and it made me sad reading this. I'm sorry for all your losses...I still cry at least once a week about my grandmother that passed away last year on the 13th of October. It gets better with time they say.....life goes on...xx

Awww @oleg326756, I'm so very sorry for all of this, and I'm hoping that the coming year holds much more peace, life and happiness for you and your family ❤️

And for everyone else on the planet! Including you and your family too! :)

Here is hoping that 2019 is a much better year for you and your family. I have years like that in the past as well and they are tuff for sure to get through. I wish you the best Oleg.

Tough getting through each day after losing loved ones, we start to question life itself, not looking forward to so called festivities at year end, 2019 cannot come soon enough, perhaps a new perspective in a new year.

We the living have to keep moving forward carrying our loved ones light forward, what we have learned over years of joy and happiness shared with them.

Thoughts are with you Oleg.

Oh My dear @oleg326756 what a great amount of loss in 2018, and than Being in a another country must be hard. I wish you a better 2019

Thank you, dear!

Touching post my friend I wished that you and your family members will find peace and remember the good memories and forget all the bad times. At the end we are just part of this world for a short period of time but our actions, feelings and loved ones stay forever.

Thank you, Roberto. That’s so true.

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



I'm sorry to hear about the tough year you have had man. There's only so much you can do but there's only one known in life - that we are all going to die at some point. So we have to do what we can to be as happy as we can during it and spread the positive vibes as much as possible. Take care my friend - my thoughts to you and your family.

#steemitbloggers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83