A New Kiva Loan on Behalf of Team SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

As I was sitting on the train to the airport before flying to SteemFest2 in Lisbon last Wednesday, I realised I hadn’t made my regular monthly loan on Kiva.org. I try to lend once a month, usually on the 17th or the 18th of each month. I got my smartphone and browsed through the currently funraising loans. After a little bit of exploring I settled on a loan to Sanyatbek, a young man of 22 years in Kyrgyzstan, a farmer who owns his own farm. On his 0.45 hectares / 0.11 acres of land he’s cultivating garlic for sale on the local markets. The farming is profitable as it is, but Sanyatbek has bigger dreams and he needed a loan to build another greenhouse to grow organic vegetables.

It looked great to me, a hard-working young man working on his own land, feeding his fellow countrymen. I contributed $25 towards the USD $2,925 loan funded by Kiva’s users. As usual, I attributed my loan to Team Steemit on Kiva. This latest loan has brought the total team stats up to 14 loans given by the team’s 9 members, that together amounted to $350 (each loan being $25).

My wish and my hope that more Steemians will consider registering on Kiva and converting some of their STEEM/SBD earnings into loans to other hard-working entrepreneurs, farmers, fishermen, seamstresses etc. around the world. Once your loan gets repaid, you can re-lend it to a new project. Thus your money will make a difference many times over. Making our world a more prosperous place, one loan at a time.



Sort:  

We don't have the resources to contribute additionally to Kiva, a wonderful project among many others- we already contribute privately to the tune of a substantial percentage of our income, NONE of which is disposable- because there are friends, family, and our immediate physical communities in greater need. If we pillage our tiny STEEM accounts, our contribution to Steemit becomes essentially completely worthless (my posts garner virtually nothing, although my wife makes a few cents) as nearly all out value comes through curation.

Well, I understand your situation (I hope) and I respect your sincere response to my post.

I just want to make sure that I was clear when I described Kiva loans as borrowed money, not donated. That is: you will get your loan back, eventually, after it’s been repaid by the borrower. Then you can either withdraw it to your PayPal account or to lend again to another borrower/project. So it’s not a donation or a charity in the traditional sense. It’s more like a help to self-help. A hand up. Not a hand-out.

Yay!! You’re the man! :D

Amazing :) Kep it up @oleg326756 I have one question for you, will you do the minnows eating minnows season anytime soon? I'm really waiting for a newer season I enjoyed it so much!

Yes, it’s in the plans. As soon as I have more time and energy, I’m going to finish Season 2 and start a new season after that. I probably won’t be able to keep up with the daily rate of new episodes coming up, as I did in Season 1, but 2 to 3 episodes per week should be doable.

Stay tuned! ;)

Awesome I'll be waiting for it

Congratulations @oleg326756! You have received a vote as part of @raserrano donation to this project.
I will be able to help more #minnows
@OriginalWorks @steem-untalented

Great choice Oleg. I will have $50 to contribute to my next steemit team loan on kiva. I have been overdue for some time now.

Good job! Thanks to @raserrano you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14277.99. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52