Circles of Life

in #life7 years ago

circle of life.jpg

On a beautiful fall day while walking in a park with the latest grand-children, an awkward question arose.

"What is that Papa"?

As I believed it was not my place to introduce the concept of death to these innocents. I think such a profound topic should be left to their parents. I said,

"It is a salmon. That is what they do, they swim up to feed all the other creatures who live in the river."

"Oh" they said.

For the rest of the day I contemplated the autumn of my life and the absolute awesomeness of life. Leaves fall to enrich the soil and salmon die to bring the nutrients from the sea. Children play in parks. Circles within circles, the infinite; the sacred, all around us.

Sort:  

Congratulations @oldmariner! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thought provoking post, almost poetic. I can relate, as I live in Alaska and have gone on walks with my own young children and seen salmon all spawned out waiting to die.

I have lived in the desert, the tropics, the south pacific but buy far the north west pacific ocean is the most interesting. The seasons, the wild-life and scenery are breathtaking.
Alaska is fantastic.The almost poetry was intentional, thanks for noticing.

I love the Pacific northwest. To breakdown my username for you: Ak = Alaska, Sounder = Puget Sound. I was born in Washington and grew up between both states; would love to move back to the area sometime soon. Alaska's rough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56512.08
ETH 2344.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33