The Wisdom of Age

in #life7 years ago (edited)

bette.png

Bette Davis (for you younger people, she was a famous actress) once said that “growing old is not for sissies.” The inevitable deterioration in one’s body is a constant reminder that you ain’t what you used to be and never will be again. Nevertheless, with age comes certain benefits. A recent study reported on MSN pointed out that the oldest group surveyed (between 82 and 85) reported having the greatest psychological well being of all age groups. The older you are, says the report, the more you can see another person’s point of view; anticipate change; consider multiple possible outcomes; acknowledge uncertainty; search for compromise. In fact, the study indicates that the greatest wisdom is achieved by those between 60 and 90 years of age. I believe the psychologists are probably right. I can certainly see other points of view I just don’t like them very much. I have no problem with change as long as I initiate it. I often see different outcomes and recognize uncertainty but I plan assiduously to avoid any basis for having to deal with either problem. And I often seek compromise but only to hold my own with my wife. Ah, wisdom! I find that with age I prefer to cut to the chase when discussing any topic so I won’t have to interrupt the conversation by having to excuse myself to go to the bathroom. Idle chatter drives me crazy because I’m often preoccupied with trying to remember if I took my pills when I should have. And, having grandchildren, I spend a lot of time trying to figure out whether it’s time for a hearing aid or whether the little darlings just need speech therapy. Fortunately, not being in that oldest age group, I can still drive my sport’s car with alacrity, find the right button on one of my three remotes to turn up the volume on my flat screen TV and gleefully ignore what I look like in a mirror. Unfortunately, as I watch the doddering old curmudgeons in Congress, I realize that as in every study, there are exceptions to every conclusion. Hopefully, my children will some day grow old and wise too. So far, they’re doing pretty good but as I think back on it, it’s hard to gain a lot of wisdom when you’re balancing jobs, relationships, raising children and all that goes with those things. I guess that’s why we oldsters gain wisdom: we actually have some time to think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45