You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops – Part Ten

in #life5 years ago

What I remember from those days was the fast pace of change! For example I had a buddy that didnt own a PC but wanted one. He would see me maybe drop $800 on a 286, and he would brag a year later that he could buy it for $500...this would repeat over and over through the evolution of x86 machines! I dont know if he ever did buy one lol. He just could not get over the price drop and the speed of obsolescence !

Sort:  

It was like that, yes. A collegue of mine once explained what a 286 processor computer was to me in the early days. 'a wicked multi-tasking machine' was the answer.

In theory a 286 could multi-task, but in practice it was pitiful.

I am not sure if things advance as dramatically now or if there is not such a need to upgrade as before. I remember the cat's meow was getting a Voodoo graphics card for playing Quake! I was in love lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35