You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Suspending Our Disbelief... An Essential for Change?

in #life7 years ago

In my younger days in the financial arena, we used the old saying of "Fake it till you make it". It can be a helpful mindset for some situations.
Coming from a history of being very involved and religious to now not so much, I still can still see value in the old Bible stories, especially when thought of as stories. As Jesus often taught with parables, maybe many of the old stories are just that?

Sort:  

Great point, my friend.

I think that stories are pretty much at the core of the universe, and a most excellent way of communicating. As you've observed, stories are Jesus' preferred method of teaching.

Having said that, I think that God has in many cases arranged actual historical events in such a way that they are both - literal events and object lessons or parables for us to contemplate and (hopefully) draw some good, actionable conclusions from! :)

And I'm a big fan of "Fake it 'till you make it." I love the TV series that revolve around people doing just that. I am a great proponent of "learning on the job." My preferred way to learn is by doing, just jumping in with both feet hoping to come down running, rolling with the punches as necessary.

Thanks for your interaction! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59696.15
ETH 2618.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41