You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That missing call...

in #life7 years ago

I have missed that call for a very long time now.

Lost my Safetynet of a dad when I was in college, and for me the answer is "no" even after 30 years.
I was very lucky to have had that special person in my life who knew how to act and treat others and how to make you feel special without having an ego bigger than your surroundings.
After this long I still think of him and miss him every day.

The very worst part is having had children that never knew such a wonderful grandfather, and I hate that they never had the good example or simple learning experiences that I had. I feel like they missed out on so much.

But with time comes the realization that I never would have done certain things in my life or pushed myself in certain ways and I always depended on the back up. I am not near the father know the person that he was, and I certainly don't understand His plan and taking him at an age which I now I am approaching myself.

I do know that I am very thankful to have had him for the time I did and to have had the privilege of calling him my dad.

Sort:  

@ohicklin I only just saw your reply on this post by chance, don't think my notifications are working too well...

However, thank you for your reply. My dad has actually been on my mind quite a bit tonight and now I saw your reply which is actually comforting in a way.

I feel like I can relate to exactly what you are saying. Missing him never ends and yes, my child is also missing out on having my dad as his grandfather. He was a great grandfather to my niece, but passed away when my little one was only 1 year old.

But yes I am holding on to the memories and time I did get with him. Some days it just gets to you, you know... But thank you so much for your reply. It helps and means a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59