The Roles of Animals in African Tradition & Religion…… The Sacred/ Royal Python

in #life7 years ago (edited)

 


Certain animals have a major role to play in the African tradition and culture. The python is regarded as an ancestral spirit or deities by a division of the Igbo tribe found in the eastern part of Nigeria. While some of the Igbos worship and hold the python sacred, some see it as a dreadful animal and others eat it. 

To the Igbos from Anambra state, this pythons must not be killed or injured because they are believed to be the reincarnation of ancestors.  Killing of pythons attracts severe punishment as the perpetuator of such act would be banished from that land. However, mistakenly killing python requires that the animal would be given a befitting burial as if it were a human.  

I am from the Igbo tribe in Nigeria, but not from the division that holds pythons sacred. My maternal aunt is married to a man from Anambra state. It is very common to find these snakes in people’s houses; surprisingly the serpents do not harm them.  I do visit my aunt regularly, one day, while I was there, this serpent crawled in into their house, it was an unforgettable scene as I saw my  aunt’s husband shower  the python with special names, like “my great ancestor” “the beautiful one”  “my great father” and so on. As he kept on hailing the python, it peacefully turned and crawled out of the house. It is generally believed by these people that the visit of the python is a sign of good omen.  

If you ever visit the southeastern part of  Nigeria, be careful not to speedily kill a snake because you might attract the wrath of the people there. 

Photo credit:   yen.com.gh, nairaland.com, dailypost.ng  

Thanks for Reading      

Sort:  

This is really scary! I'm terrified of snakes haha Thanks for sharing, This is really interesting stuff

@kaylinart, you are not more terrified than I am. You would have seen me when the python visited. Lol!

Nice Post, great info. you now have a new follower and hope you follow me.

Wow, this is very cool! We have Boa's here in Panama which are very similar.

Yeah! I have heard similar stories from all around the world. Thanks for stopping by @hilarski

Interesting! Luckily we have no snakes in England (well there are a couple of kinds but they are very rare). I think snakes are somewhat revered in India too.

"Luckily we have no snakes in England" I wish I am living in England because of that alone. I hate snakes a lot.
" I think snakes are somewhat revered in India too." I think so too because I have seen similar acts in their movies. Thanks for dropping a comment here.

I read about something similar in Chinua Achebe's book "Arrow of God" that was the first time I heard of the Sacred Python. Pretty interesting tradition.
I hate snakes tho :/

Yea, Chinua Achebe is from Anambra state, so he knows about the royal snakes. Thanks for reading @trillex.

Interesting post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44