You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've Been Playing With My Hair

in #life6 years ago

Good for you for taking the time to do some self-discovery, and self-love! Sometimes we have ideas in our heads (especially as kids/teens) about what makes someone fit into a certain box, whether it be ourselves or others, and as we get older we realize our preconceived notions aren't always correct. haha (I, personally, always loved the vintage '40s/'50s aesthetic, but didn't want to be perceived as "one of those girly-girls" so I went through a big NO DRESSES phase. I love dresses, always have, but I wanted to be taken seriously, as an intellectual, and as a rough and tumble, one-of-the-guys kind of gal, so I wanted to distance myself from the garishly girly, prissy girls that I observed in Jr High.)

One thing you may have noticed, after chatting with other vintage-loving gals on the FB groups, is that most of us didn't fit the mould of those "popular/mean girls" either... we're a little eccentric, and thus, I think a little more open and accepting. 😉

As someone who worked as a hairstylist/make-up artist for several years, and a vintage-lover, I can say, with your stick-straight hair, product is going to be your best friend. The only way to get a great victory roll is lots of product in your hair, lots of backcombing, and a lot of patience. haha

Good luck in your future experiments! And thanks for sharing your journey! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73