You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The worst rental car I’ve ever had

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Our one and only vehicle is a 2009 Ford Escape. It is pretty much just as you describe! Everyone who drives it just about sends the passengers through the windshield when stopping at lights. Ours is also the hybrid version with a POS 4 cylinder engine, so it is completely useless going uphill.

We bought this SUV since my wife is terrified of driving a car around LA because she thinks it will somehow protect her being higher up. Also she wanted to try out a hybrid. I call this vehicle an SUV only in appearance and storage space, but other than that there is no "sport" or "utility" to it.

I will say that once you get used to it, it is really great for nipping around town in and goes pretty far on fuel especially in LA traffic. Of course that may only apply to the hybrid model. I would like to add that once you drive another car after driving the Escape for a few years, you feel like everything is really mushy (breaks and steering).

2010-07-29 15.09.56.jpg

That is a pic of me in the Escape in 2010. By the way, we purchased the car from a Ford dealer who had bought it from a car rental place. So I have to give it credit for still running in 2018!

Sort:  

whoops. complete accident calling you out on your car. swear i didn't know... haha. Yours is looking pretty good for 9 years old. Well done Ford I guess. Maybe if I had it under my command for more than 3 hours i could have gotten used to it. After being reprimanded by my passengers several times i actually offered to let "anyone else rive because I am not doing this on purpose!"

Hehe, well this photo was taken back in 2010, but to be perfectly honest it still looks the same after a good wash. It probably helps that it lives in a garage. But as you said, the breaks and steering are crazy responsive so it takes some getting used to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42