You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No one knows how to do stuff anymore

in #life6 years ago

I think that a lot of Generation X kids like me were left to fend for ourselves. We ran the streets all day and night with no supervision. A lot of us got so pissed off at our lack of parenting that we got all angsty and declared "My kids will never have to go through this shit."

So what was our response? We created Millennials. I'm not talking about the ones who are perfectly normal functioning adults, but a particular subset that emerged from the jaded rage of a pissed off neglected Gen Xer constituency. The ones who seem to write all of the relationship story lines in DC Comics shows. They coddled a whole generation and turned them into anti-everything entitled assholes who can no see subtlety or grey area.

I totally saw it coming, though. The real scary thing is that there are very few people who really understand all of the technology that we take advantage of daily.

I remember a 55 year old guy that I met in college who worked on the the old ENIAC computer for the government. He was a genius, but was totally stressed out about this programming class that we were taking. I was a young kid, about 22 and I was confused as to why he was so stressed. I mean, this guy knew computers inside and out down to the logic gates. We were just learning to program the things.

Of course, he was fine by the end of the course - in fact, way more rounded than us. After all, he was retired and had just decided to come back and take some classes.

Fast forward to now. 9 out of 10 programmer that I meet have little to no understanding of how a computer works. But boy do they think that they are geniuses. I suppose that this is the natural progression of technology. In order to continue to advance, we have to build off of the old tech. It would be impossible to go back and learn the fundamentals at some point.

There will come a time in the near future that one person will not be able to understand even the most simple computing device. That's when the robots and machine learning devices will take over! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39