Bajai Boot Camp 6: Running Series Episode XXXVII

in #life8 years ago

(11-04-16)


The archetypal image of a Lost Generation, ex-pat novelist came to mind recently as I was pounding away on these fragile keys. I am, of course referring to the likes of Hemingway and Miller, to name a couple. Somehow I've been conditioned to imagine an unshaven World War I veteran sitting at a typewriter with a bottle of cheap booze... (name your poison) by his side, looking out onto the Spanish, or French (the Basque region more than likely) countryside frustrated as he attempts to write the Great American novel.


The parallels are striking; as I sit here, a veteran of the US Navy, pecking away on an already vintage HP (laptop), staring at a map of Europe, a cup of tea at my side, scented candles burning trying to write the Great American Blog. I am, however not frustrated as far as I know, nor am I an ex-pat - at least not yet. 


Four days into the transit strike and it's my first day back to the gig. No need to update you on my week as you can access my past bloggy offerings if you are genuinely interested. 


There are three "lines" that operate under the auspices  of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transit Authority (SEPTA). Fortunately for us commuters there are three separate contracts that determine the work terms. The largest on is on strike, but there are two others operating. It is slightly less convenient for me to take the "Commuter Rail" than my normal route; only slightly. The alternative would be to catch a shuttle to and from the gig, that the gig is providing. However, since I have this damn-near $100.00 monthly "transpass" in my possession, I'm going to use it, even if I have to walk a mile to do it. 


In one of my clips I mentioned that I train just in case I need to be in good enough condition to get where I need to be in the event of an emergency. This isn't really 'that' dire, but it's a good test to see whether I can really handle it, or whether my rants are all bluster and BS. 


Day 37 - I woke up as usual but instead of spending the usual 40 minutes training and stretching and such, I walked a mile (thought it was further) to the train (that was operating) station. Afterwards I decided to test my resolve, endurance and stamina by walking the 5.5 miles back to my house. I did make a stop along the way to fuel up. There was no time limit to this trek, although it may have taken more than a couple of hours, including the meal, the clips and trying to walk and text at the same time. But I made it. I really had no choice but to make it. 


Well, that's not completely true; I GAVE myself no other choice than to make it. An easy walking range for me is 2.5 miles - I get that in about 40 - 45 minutes and I'm usually carrying about 20 lbs. in my backpack. Terrain, traffic, joggers and fatigue somewhat hinder and retard my pace the longer I travel. The quickest I've made it home from the gig has been 89 minutes - but it's because I was battling the clock. 


Apologies as today's Episode will arrive late due to social activities. 


Stay Tuned for Episode XXXVIII




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57