Keep the homefires burning!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Summer is in full swing at the Urban Homestead.

IMG_20180730_175545_7365.jpg

Homestead? Really?

Well perhaps that is stretching it a bit.

Yet we try to connect with nature in our tiny urban grove.

IMG_20180730_175607_533.jpg

A friend and as was decided later this night after 8 beers, one of the Fam, dropped by to help me run some plumbing. While over at Rona's for twine and a heavy bolt to keep the twine taunt for a plumb of sorts, gave me a chance to ask about backyard firepits. The store had only had gas ones available on my last visit, yet they had been restocked and a lovely wood burning model was available.

There had been literally years of willow branches which had fallen through their natural growth style in our urban grove. The pile was beginning to concern me as a fire hazard.

IMG_20180731_220939_6693.jpg

So as they say fight fire with fire.

When my Plumber's Helper arrived they were convinced that poking around in the basement may best be left for a rainy day and instead agreed to help me carry the disassemblef fitepit back from Rona's. What a flexible helper!

And then he launched into assembly!

IMG_20180731_220822_5467.jpg

Was it mentioned that the Helper, himself, had a helper or can a servant be your Master?

IMG_20180731_220846_4905.jpg

What could be done but bicycle off with two empty saddle bags for 12 Indian Pale Ales (or IPAs as Propeller Beer millenially markets them) as a ceremony of sorts seemed about to go down, the likes of which had not been seen since my, then, adolesent daughter's interest in Wicca and my Pagan friend who encouraged it.

(Met some nice folks at an annual weekend PaganFest up near Digby, Nova Scotia during that phase.)

The only Goddess present was requested to bring the first fire to the prepared pit as sunset bore down.

IMG_20180731_220757_6572.jpg

As darkness decended we were transported to a magical forest....

IMG_20180731_220737_9657.jpg

... without ever leaving home.

IMG_20180730_175506_8535.jpg

Sort:  

Sitting with friends by a camp fire and one of them has a guitar.... this I call life.

Guitars are planned for our next gathering. Stay tuned! 😎

Hey.. I love that. I have often thought of what we could do, we have so many trees. But now I know. Awesome, enjoy that. :)))

Yeah its amazing the amount of dropped branches one can get from just a few trees. It's good to clean out the underbrush on small woodlots for fire hazard reasons, as well.

Of course just a pleasant camp fire is reason enough. 😎

Excelente post me encantó @novacadian

Gracias por unirse a nosotros en nuestra arboleda urbana. 😎

Buenas noche de nada. Aliados desde Venezuela.

I love fire pits! I have a bowl shaped one on my back porch that I wished I used more.

The bowl shapes are nice designs. With so many tree branches above our fire it is nice to have most sparks contained.

I love the idea of that cage to keep the fire contained. Essential with so much dry material around. So many wild fires around the world at the moment. A great addition to outdoor living. 😎😎

One side is hinged like a door, so you can still get your marshmellow on a stick over the fire. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44