Two New Friends

in #life6 years ago

Three things that I have found that are extremely important for comfort and coping with severe depression and anxiety: Cute, Soft, Colorful.

20171228_145402.jpg

And these guys sure fit the bill! My father-in-law gave both my husband and I a little money each for Christmas. So I treated myself to these colorful soft cuties at the pharmacy when I had to go in and figure out how to get my expensive heart medication that my insurance won't cover. (I don't ever want to go back on that cheap shit I was on for almost a decade before. It was making me sicker in other ways.)

I don't care if you think it's strange for a twenty-eight year old man to have cute stuffed animals. They're cute and comforting and happy and sometimes even adults need that. Especially the ones that are really struggling with severe depression, anxiety, health issues, among other things.

I also collect colorful socks and blankets. Because colorful and soft.

Sort:  

SNAP!! Hazel picked up the rainbow one a few days ago and it is her favourite thing at the moment, it goes everywhere with her (at her peril, as it is her responsibility).

Hey Hazel! We have the same beanie boo! XD

Omfg, @HopeHuggs, they're so damn soft and snuggly. And they're just so damn happy!

The rainbow one almost matches the blanket I photographed it on. Which is nice. :D

I think you need something like this

Mmm, I don't need that kind of dog, no. But if you have that Stitch costume a size larger (that one looks extra small) I have a giant black Maine Coon/Norwegian Forest Cat mix that likes wearing clothes and costumes that would look great in that.

I got one of those for my daughter to attach to a security blanket. I chose a husky because I like wolves and wolf looking dogs. The material is so soft. I have an old TY from the 90s who was my favorite toy growing up. He's traveled with me everywhere, even as an adult. We all need a little comfort sometimes.

I got my husband the husky for Christmas two years ago. :3

I travel with stuffed animals. Often even locally.

It's usually a precaution in case I end up in the emergency room. Gives me something to snuggle, but they also don't believe in stress balls anymore. So a stuffed animal gives me something with give to squeeze while they butcher my veins. My veins aren't cooperative, and "medical professionals" are cunts and even after hearing you had IVIG every four weeks for six years and averaged six sticks, plus all the emergency room trips in between where they butchered you, they still don't want to put the needle where you tell them to.

Usually they end up having to in the end, and even though that spot didn't seem reliable to them, it was, and they just collapsed three veins and caused my weeks of severe pain that no one will treat for nothing other than the fact that they're the professional and therefore know my body better than me. And after all that bullshit, you can bet I need something cute and soft and colorful to comfort me.

If I'm out with people other than my husband, I'll have a stuffed animal secured to the top or side of my messenger bag or backpack. Don't care that I'm in my late twenties. The world can bite my ass.

Life requires cute and colorful and soft comfort! Stuffed animals for life!

(Sorry for all the rambling.)

Rambles and C words. I've missed you.
I'm in emergency for the second time this week.
When I said 2018 was my year I didn't imagine I'd be cutting it this fine.

I've been missing you as well!

I'm so sorry! I've been mostly hiding out here on my own blog, as well as with my husband. Just trying to keep myself more active on Steemit and trying to keep myself going in the real world.

What's been going on? I'm always here for you. Always have spoons for you. Just ask for spoons and I'm yours. ♡

One simple medication that is started to counteract another medication which was poorly managed. Then that drug causes a scary side effect of really high hypertension. No-one will change the medication causing the hypertension and other hideous symptoms without the approval of the original prescribing genius who is on aholiday and not contactable. So they just cover it up with a blood pressure medicine. OK, no worries I will figure it out in a few weeks.
Only I had an allergic reaction to the blood pressure medication and ended up back at the hospital.
They took me off the blood pressure medication and sent me home....
Still on the drug that had my bp 220/120 with no replacement.
The doctor said, I'm not worried about that, plenty of people are walking around with a blood pressure like that and don't know it.
Yeah, then they drop dead.

I have no idea what to do. I'm fucking sick of a broken system that doesn't work and doesn't care.

Still on the drug that had my bp 220/120 with no replacement.

The doctor said, I'm not worried about that, plenty of people are walking around with a blood pressure like that and don't know it.

Um... We're broken here in the US, but we're not that broken.

Make sure you file as many complaints as you can lob at them. Gimme a bit and I'll see if I can help you work around this bullshit.

You guys are so cute. I'm glad I procrastinated on sending you a Christmas parcel.
I'm on a mission for a cute little marsupial or two.

Yeah... I never managed to get what I wanted for making your Christmas gift. So you may end up the recipient of something experimental. Hope you don't mind too much. ^^;;

I think it's funny that of all the terrifying and deadly things in Australia, you guys got the super Goddamn adorable opossums and we got the ones that give Australians nightmares. XD

Please don't put yourself out for me, though. Anything you send me will be amazing, just because it's from you. ♡

That's funny, your possum is weird and scary.
Ours are a bit vicious too, even though they look cute. The ring tail see cute but the brush tail can win a Fight against a cat.
They make the funniest throaty noise when they threaten each other too.
I have a brush tail possum just outside my bedroom window, in the paper bark trees.
I don't know about other people but I sometimes half wake, know I was snoring, am still snoring even and... 😲
Anyway this possum was just a few metres away. It must have thought I was threatening it, it was snoring viciously back at me. I did it back consciously a few times for fun, then I freaked out and closed the window. It was hot and stuffy but I had visions of it jumping through my window 😂


Everything in our home can be referenced by Simpsons, Modern Family or a nineties movie of the Billy Madison genre.

I totally get this as these things make me happy as well. Do you collect Beanie Babies in general? My youngest has a small collection made up of some of my old ones and some of her new ones. Some can be quite rare! Keep an eye out!

I have some of my old ones from my childhood. I tend to be attracted more to TY stuffed animals (not usually the beanie boos) these days because it's not that easy to find stuffed animals that are...well, stuffed animals anymore!

Aside from the small holiday specific stuffed animals, I mean. And even then, that tends to be the only time anything decent is around. Other than beanie boos, which are usually less hit and more miss with me, it's hard to find stuffed animals these days. (Outside of seasonal stuffed animals.)

Most stuffed animals these days, when you find them, seem to be required to have some weird component that turns me off and/or drives the price up.

I'm not really a collector collector, I just collect the ones that appeal to me. I rarely have the ability to get stuffed animals. Can't really justify getting them too often. Blankets are at least useful and it gets really damn cold. Socks keep the bottom of my feet from splitting open during the winter time.

Stuffed animals are cute and happy, but aside from that and the cats loving to snuggle up with them, they aren't 'useful'. :(

I think that if it makes you feel good about yourself or relieves anxiety and depression...it is completely useful!!! Could you imagine just going out and buying a $10 stuffed animal a month instead of getting $100 worth of nasty prescription meds? That would ROCK!

I don't take meds for depression and anxiety. I don't do well on them. I end up spending well over $100 on meds for my other health issues. (I am well researched on my health issues, I don't just blindly take the pills I'm given. I'm a balance between holistic and pharmaceutical, unfortunately they're both expensive.)

I do agree completely about them being useful in that regard. But our financial situation is desperate. I have to try to get what's useful to not just me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05