You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Case Against “Polite Speech” in Korea [Part 1]

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I think this aspect of korean culture makes it extremely difficult for the social structure of non-koreans. On one hand there are koreans who will accept the foreigners who don't follow these social rules (whether it be lack of culture knowledge or stubornness.). Then you have the ones who force their social statuses on to foreigners because they 'should.' This is one reason why feel like I can never adapt to korean culture even after being here for four and a half years. Befor I moved here I thought speaking korean would be enough to earn my place in society but it isnt enough. I have to think like a korean, which may take a lifetime for me.
Man I could go on for days about this lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75