I've got nothing... Or do I?

in #life7 years ago

Hello Steemians!

I'm writing because I really have nothing to write about! lol! I know, it doesn't make much sense, but such is life! I suppose I could update everyone on what's going on in my life. Ok, I'm sold, let's do it!

Texas Driver's License

Well, as I blogged before, I moved back to Amarillo, TX from Ohio. My birthday was last month, and as it turned out my Ohio license expired on my birthday. Texas, in all its glory, has decided that if your license is one day expired, you have magically forgotten how to drive and all the laws associated with it. In the situation of an expired license, they require to you to take both the written and in-car driving tests. So, over a two day period and 4 trips to the DMV trying to figure out their muddled identification and proof of residency rules regarding proof there of, I finally got to test.

When I walked in Friday morning we were finally given the go ahead to take the tests, but that the in-car may have to be scheduled for a later date. Considering I needed a current and unexpired ID to continue with the I-9 government form, it was devastating news. Well, during my visit with the DMV official in charge of getting me through the process, she informs me that I may be able to take the in-car that day if I could pass the written. Yay!

I managed to go through the written test, obviously geared towards minors since it had all manor of questions pertaining to them. I passed it. I did as was told. Bring the car around to a certain spot and wait for an officer. We begin. I won't bore you with the details, but I managed not to kill us and pass it with flying colors. Yes! So now I am legal to drive in Texas and I get to be hired at the job I've been doing for a little over a week. Go me, right?

Protests and Anti-Protests

It's been all over MSM and Social Media. Nazis and other white supremacists invaded the small town of Charlottesville, VA. Ant-Protesters, mostly from the community, also showed up to defend their community from the hate. Sadly, 3 people died, one anti-protester and 2 police officers. I'm not getting into the specifics, it's been done. I've read so much about and could almost recite it all from memory.

Today, there was another similar protest/anti-protest situation in Boston. Much less violent, with only 20 people (out of 40k anti-protesters) being arrested. That's pretty peaceful for that many people being in one area, especially with such an ideologically charged subject as white supremacy.

I will say this. I do not, and will never, endorse or support an individual or organization that devotes him/her/itself to the destruction of any person or group of people based on their religion, race, social status, or sexuality. It is unacceptable and morally deviant.

The Job

I've been certifying myself as a Lexmark laser printer technician all week. It has been a crazy week, so I didn't get as much done as I wanted or needed to do, but I did get quite a bit done at the same time. The job will require me to go onsite to various retail locations and do point of sale and laser printer maintenance. It's not much different than what I was doing before I left for Ohio. This is part of who I am. I fix electronics. I'm a Technomancer.

Magic: The Gathering

Nothing much new in this area. I did find some more cards in storage. These are from the 8th edition core set and 2 decks from one of the duel deck packaged bundles. The more, the merrier! Eventually, I'll be able to afford more cards and start playing on the regular basis. I can't wait!

Ending for Now

Not really ending, but I'm going to cut this post off now. I don't want to bore you any more than I already have!

My fellow Steemians, thank you so much for reading my ramblings! Have a great rest of the weekend, and enjoy the eclipse for those that can see it! Stay tuned!

--Norez

Sort:  

Congratulations @norez! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Lol...you are funny...not at all a bore....and you had plenty to say...I'm happy that things are working out for you after your move...I know moves stink....lol I can't wait to be finished :) :) I agree with you ...I can't see why there is so much violence...I'm just so tired of it particularly when it comes to people thinking they are better than another...excuse my unladylike french...but we all are born ..eat ..bleed ..shit and die the same!! Smh.... Magic...The gathering? What is this ..please share with me... and I wish I could say I got to see the Eclipse but clouds and rain prevented that lol...Kayleigh

Why thank you for the complements! As it turns out, I can ramble about plenty. lol! Yes, I really hate moving, but it had to happen. I was in a bad situation and had to get out of it. Did you move recently also?

Some forms of violence I can understand, like self-defense. Many people put way too much stock in their own beliefs, even to the point where they think it's the only way to believe. Not only that, but they think everyone should be like them, and if they aren't, then something should happen to them, e.g. conversion, brainwashing, conditioning, or destruction. It's very saddening to me.

Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game. It's a really neat game! You can find more information at: http://magic.wizards.com/

I didn't get to watch the eclipse either. It was too cloudy and I didn't have the special glasses or anything. The next one should be decently viewable from here, so I'll make more of an effort to watch it.

Thanks so much for your comment and kind words! :)

Man....I can ramble on for days...lol...sometimes I think I'm only one listening lol...yes I'm in the middle of a move currently ...not out of state ...yet...I'm headed back home to Cali probably in February. ..just moving into a new house...one without history. ..ok I will check the link because I'm curious ..I'm exhausted..I'm gonna knock out ..ttys...Kayleigh :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68846.60
ETH 3872.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66