You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPACE NEWS - CME Impact Coming, Mystery, Tsunami Risk | S0 News Feb.14.2018

in #life6 years ago (edited)

solar-event.jpg

Now I can say that I've watched a space weather bulletin. Cheers.

I'm preoccupied with the effects of climate change on my immediate environment (very bad, very quickly). We could rid earth of all pollutants and somehow regenerate to pre-industrial era conditions, it's going to mean nothing in the face of the sun having a small burp in the wrong direction...

Sort:  

Hello nonsqtr,
We should all be prepared to live without electricity (and internet!) if a mega CME hits Earth.
Grow your own food and learn to be truly self sufficient now, and it would be no great hardship if this occurs. Also make sure you can generate wealth from your own skills or products that you make or grow... crypto will be on ice till someone gets a infrastructure back together - which may takes years!
Whatever happens - if we give love to our neighbours and community, all will be good.

Keep well :D

Thanks. Yep, I am prepared for anything within my means. So much could go wrong and I can't dwell on it, but I am definitely a prepper lite. Have a tablet with over 600 books, including survival manuals for every possible eventuality, fundamental engineering, physics and chemistry, self-defense, medical and other important non-fiction literature in digestible form.

The rest is mostly hard sci-fi because a man needs some leisure time after a hard day fighting off mutants. I recently started collecting every circuit board I can lay my hands on which contain discrete components (as opposed to SMD). I'm nowhere in electronics yet, but with a manual in hand, I could build or repair a radio. Should probably get a very high quality soldering torch and a box of lighter gas cans.

Also collecting cells from old laptop batteries where I can. Usually just one busted cell with the rest still good for 4.1v and between 2.1 and 2.5amps. I keep them charged and have modified a cheap solar charger. One cell can run a bright LED for a long time and combined you can power more complex circuits and charge things like the mentioned tablet.

Unless of course CMEs fry electronics indiscriminately, whether on or off. Then I'll just find a place close to water and fashion myself a spear...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59