3 Reasons My Amazon Business Failed

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-12-18 at 3.53.40 AM.png

After averaging 120k per year in sales for 3 years...

...I've shut down my e-comm store on Amazon.

Dun dun dun.

Now, don't get your panties in a wad thinking, "Wow, you shut down a biz that sells 120k per year? Are you crazy like your potty-hat wearing mother?"

"Why would you shut that down? "

To answer your question, yes I am crazy like my potty-hat wearing mother.

Because that's not why I did it.

First of all, my profits were enough to cover basic expenses for the first two years I had the store.

This past year...well, let's just say it wasn't even doing that anymore.

This year is when I decided to shut it down! Like Jess so awkwardly did on the show New Girl.

shut it down gif.gif

Here's why I did it:

1. I was a big fat chicken baby

I was afraid that I couldn't handle the high-volume game. I didn't believe in my ability to be able to keep up with the demands and responsibility that would come with the success of making more sales.

So I purposely slowed down my sales.

I know it sounds crazy, but it's true.

I was scared to grow.

I was already outside of my comfort zone as it was, exploring uncharted territories in my first attempt at starting a business.

I felt like if I was going to be brave enough to explore the unknown, I should've at least had a cool pirate hat or something.

But nope.

No sweet pirate hat for me.

Just the fear that I wouldn't know what to do if I got too many sales, and that I'd immediately ruin everything and the whole thing would implode.

So when I got too many sales and started to feel uncomfortable, I raised my price.

But the sales kept coming at a fast pace.

So I raised it again.

And again.

I raised my price to triple that of my competitors (don't worry, I made sure my product was worth it).

It was the sweet spot so that I could play the "low-volume, higher margin game."

Now you might be thinking, "How the heck did you even sell your product if it was triple the price of all of your competitors?"

Ahh.

That's called "kinda sorta knowing what the heck you're doing."

Or at least, I think that's the official business term for it, anyway.

And I did know what I was doing when it came to most marketing aspects of the business, at least.

The problem is...the areas that I needed help in, I didn't get it.

Which brings me to my next point of epic failure...

2. I spread myself to thin, like a PB&J sandwich with an inadequate amount of peanut butter.

I knew I should have either partnered with someone or hired someone who could have handled the areas of the business that I was weak in.

⭐️Things like keeping track of inventory.

⭐️Doing the bookkeeping.

⭐️Keeping track of numbers/analytics/making sure that we were still profitable each month.

⭐️Analyzing which areas we could cut costs in after keeping track of numbers.

⭐️Someone who would actually follow through on doing sea shipping intead of air shipping, unlike me, who just seriously contemplated it then never took action.

⭐️Re-ordering inventory on time.

⭐️Triple crunching the numbers to make sure the profit margins were calculated correctly.

For some reason, I told myself that I couldn't afford to hire someone.

On top of that, if I did, they wouldn't care about my business as much as I do, and therefore not do the job as well as I would have, anyway.

Well, I was wrong.

The goal is to always hire someone smarter than you in the area that you're hiring for.

Then just let them do their thing.

If someone you hire is good at what they do, then they're an investment.

Not a cost.

I wasn't looking at hiring someone as an investment, and it cost me my business.

I know when you're bootstrapping, sometimes you have to wear all the hats in the beginning.

And I mean, that's fine. Wearing different hats is fun and keeps things interesting.

Plus, you kind of need to for a little while so you can figure out what the one thing is that YOU'RE really good at, and that you really enjoy most.

So that when it comes time to hire people that are strong in areas where you're weak, you can know a little about the role and help provide some guidance.

At some point, though, you realize there's just not enough hours in the day.

It's not sustainable to wear all the hats forever if you also want to grow.

3. I got lazy sorta. I quit fighting


It's extra important when you're working online to keep up with the trends. Of everything!

The first two years, I was so diligent about learning anything and everything I could about running an amazon store.

I took a course on how to do it.

I listened to podcasts every day.

I soaked up everything I could learn about marketing.

I learned how to create a sales funnel. I bought a course on facebook ads...

..then ran ads to a landing page and then got e-mails of people and marketed to them through e-mail.

I learned how to use an autoresponder.

Then, one day...

...I just stopped all that.

I got complacent.

I blamed it on the fact that I was competing against people with very deep pockets, whoc could afford to hire an entire marketing team and crush my lil' baby facebook ads like a bug.

I blamed the fact that a huge crowd of people were coming on amazon to sell the same products, and it was getting more competitive by the day.

Even Chinese suppliers were getting on the site and selling at a lower price than you could ever possibly sell for.

AND, some of them even stole my exact pictures and product description, which played a big role in my competitive advantage.

I remember feeling angry because amazon seller support didn't do anything about the listing violation for several months.

Then I just got discouraged and kind of stopped fighting.

But honestly, at the end of the day...

...it's on me.

You only fail when you quit trying, and I quit trying.

Instead of asking myself "How can I do it? How can I fix this?"

I just said, "I can't."


Those are my 3 reasons. I know exactly what I'd do if I ever wanted to start over again to keep from failing this time. But we'll see what the future holds.

P.S. Don't forget to participate in my contest to win an alpha steem monsters card pack, and $8 worth of steem!

Just click on this picture:

Screen Shot 2018-12-16 at 2.49.25 AM.png

Sort:  

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Really enjoyed this read! So honest, there are way to many wantereprneurs and strugglewhores pushing this narrative that it’s so easy and everyone is can do it

It’s great that from this unfortunate event you were able to identify your mistakes and willing to share it with us! I’ve been on my own path now for 3 yeats and had to learn a lot in that time it’s either feast of famine but I enjoy it and wouldn’t have it any other way

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @chekohler I'm glad you liked it! Haha, strugglewhores. I want to start using that phrase.

Nothing worth having is ever easy. You're right that a lot of people make it look super easy to do, but the reality is, no matter what route you pursue...

...there will always be a lot of work and learning involved, period.

I feel the same, feast or famine but really enjoy it (while also being really stressed out at the same time sometimes lol).

I'm same as you, own path for about 3 years! Maybeeee creepin' up on 4.

Oh wow...now I suddenly feel like I should be further along haha.

But hey, whatever. I tried a lot of things out and I've learned a lot. I know more about what I like and don't like, so that's always good!

So we're pretty much in the same boat! Honestly there are many days I don't know how I made it 3/4 years, I still feel like I know nothing and i'm always learning. Which is the complete opposite of when i had a job i was so bored all the time.

We all have that feeling, I know it all too well, like I always feel I should be further long after 3 years and how everyone else seems to be flying past me. But we all have our own speed and its not a race. Its about becoming sustainable, that silcon valley vibes have us all thinking its about going big. But if you can build a business that can last and pay you a decent salary then you're already winning. Everything else is extra and money is just a byproduct of you chasing your dream and enjoying yourself

Hopefully you'll share more of your learnings and I'd like to keep in touch. I dig hearing from other business owners. Makes me want to pick their brains! I really want to start a podcast and chat to entrepreneurs like you and just learn and share :)

Wow, you just never stop being fascinating hey?
Why do you think you stopped fighting? Did you get bored, exhausted or did you find something else you were interested in?

I think if you just lost passion for it, ideally you'd hire someone to take over for you entirely, so you could focus on something else... but also, stepping away might have been the exact right thing to do at that stage in your life? Amazon businesses are fierce, and Amazon itself is very good at finding where they themselves could grab the biggest margins and then producing those goods themselves... so you might have gotten out at a good time... who knows?

Oh these are such good questions! You kinda inspired me...maybe I should just make a post answering questions about this stuff! I'll reply more later! I REALLY love that you asked me "Why do you think you stopped fighting?"

Best question ever.

I have a big answer to it, too.

So true about what you said about Amazon, though. They definitely WILL compete. I stayed away from electronics partially because of that and tried to pick products that would hopefully stay out from under amazon's radar for awhile.

it's a rigged game from the inside now. just saw something about Chinese 'gurus' working the system to get their items listed/searched at the top. I used to sell used textbooks there and on half.com until I got squeezed out of my small niche.

at least we're not helping fund Bezos anymore as he hustles to provide info to the nsa, cia, pentagon and highest bidder of dirty deeds

peace

I also sold used books (super long tail) until they changed the rules on us with the long term storage fee. I basically asked for everything to be destroyed and took the loss on the chin. :)

I wonder how many were actually destroyed, but rather sold by Amazon "Warehouse Deals".

wow, so cool @adetorrent! That's a fun fact to find out about you!!

"Warehouse Deals" for sure I bet! lol

I'm so unmovitavted with it at that point that I haven't even bothered to have the rest of my items destroyed or sent back. I just lowered the crap out of the price and am liquidating the rest right now.

Haha maybe I should do a steemit special lol

Oh yes @clumsysilverdad don't get me started on the Chinese gurus haha it did become a problem for me. So did inventory getting hacked...and my own unique product getting copied...all sorts of crazy things happened to me lol but I kept pushing for a really long time.

Have you found something else interesting to do now that you're not selling books?

not really... I'd like to have another little niche business when I quit my day job/retire ... something I can do independently and remotely, on my own schedule, etc.

This was super interesting to read and I feel like I got to know you better. I’m not going to insert any meaningful quotes about failure ect... I just hope you are doing okay and I know your talent and intelligence will come up with something the worlds needs despite this

Oh yeah haha I'm totally fine! I've known the official fail was coming for a few months now. I've just been floating towards doom like "tralala." lol I don't even feel bad about it (although I'm wondering if that means there's something seriously wrong with me. I should be devastated or motivated to fix it considering it was soooo passive it was amazing).

Actually, all in all, it still really feels like a success to me. Because had you asked me even 5 months before I started the store, I would have NEVER thought in a million years that I could even accomplish something like that.

I mean, my product was #3 on the first page for a LONG time. I have a screenshot where it was #13 ranking in the ENTIRE WORLD.

I literally maintained "towards the top of the first page" status for about 2 years.

I learned SO much about marketing, packaging, product sourcing, design, how to talk to suppliers, logistics...I could go on and on.

It wasn't a fail.

My confidence in my abilities is 100x higher as a result of doing all that.

So it's okay if you don't have any meaningful quotes about failure. I'm just fine.

And it's just a learning experience. Not a fail in my mind. Because if I were to try again right now, I'd do things differently and I bet it wouldn't fail this time.

And if it did...ok that's ok, too. I'd just pivot onto some other crazy idea lol

"I listened to podcasts every day."

OMG. I wonder if you ever listened to "The Amazing Seller"
I did, and he started getting on my nervers after a while. Like it always happens, it started like your typical Amazon Seller, and when the tactics stoped working.. he just became a seller of courses. So rather than actually selling on Amazon, he was teaching people how to sell. LIKE EVERY DAMN ONLINE MARKETING GENRE :)

I stopped partly because of some of the reasons you mentioned - listed under the 3rd one. "Chinese" sellers were listing junk versions of stuff undre my well crafted listings.

Finally Amazon themselves made the process hell for small sellers. They basically used us as market research - if you have a successful product... all of a sudden Amazon was selling the item too, at a lower price. The also incresed their fees to snuff most of us out.

I hope you have found a better avenue, and fingers crossed for Crypto!

hahaha YES that was a big one I listened to!!!! Lol he was SOOO good at the beginning though, very transparent with a lot of things.

I stopped partly because of some of the reasons you mentioned - listed under the 3rd one. "Chinese" sellers were listing junk versions of stuff undre my well crafted listings. <<< yeah!! That one was a real bummer! Especially when I'd spent HOURS doing product research to create my own unique product. I was the ONLY one in my category for awhile....and then bam, next thing you know...dead.

But hey, at least I created something worth being copied?! lol I was proud of that product, too.

They basically used us as market research - if you have a successful product... all of a sudden Amazon was selling the item too, at a lower price. <<yes I saw that happening a lot. Luckily that part never happened to me, because I tried to stay in certain categories that were more the "low hanging fruit" route so amazon wouldn't care enough to touch it.

But you're so right!

CRYPTO ALL THE WAY! fingers crossed

So so cool that you sold on there, too! Did you sell other things besides books?

At least you learned something from it and you will not Do the same mistakes again.

Posted using Partiko Android

So true! All in all, I'm super happy with it and proud that I even did it in the first place

I enjoyed reading your post about your experiences. I'm not doing Amazon, but still learning about sales, and it's been a big help.

Parallels to steem? We are also afraid (or incapable) to grow. Still not even 2 Million registered users on our budget sheet.

Posted using Partiko Android

interesting connection! We'll get there

It’s great that you know exactly where you failed since that will help you start again and not repeat your mistakes ! Don’t get discouraged I’m sure you can do something even better!!! Btw what were you selling if I may ask?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78