You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Schools Suck: The Education Fallacy

in #life7 years ago

I completely agree with you. I hated school as a kid because it was forcing me to conform and they measure children's abilities and potential by how they perform in exams. Everyone learns differently so to 'judge' students that way is not both unfair and ludicrous. I teach English as a foreign language and I read a lot on students' different learning styles as some auditory, visual or kinaesthetic learners. So when I am teaching or creating courses, I have to take all of these different styles in consideration in order to serve the different students I have . In schools, a teacher talks at you (not to you), writes things on boards and then expects EVERYONE to understand at the same speed and in the same way. And if that wasn't bad enough, you have to sit to 'learn', accept the teacher is always right and learn only what the school's curriculum deems 'important' or 'appropriate.' This is why I am big advocate for homeschooling. And when I say homeschooling, I don't necessarily mean the child always has to be home. They can learn by experiencing life and acquire useful life skills whilst enjoy the process. This should be the 'schools' of the future. As John Dewey rightly said, 'Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself.'

Sort:  

Wow. you really hit the nail on the head there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62938.49
ETH 2469.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62