You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Losing a Friend – Male Suicide – The Silent Killer - What signs to look for.

in #life7 years ago

Really great post mate. I too knew someone at the gym I used to go to who made exactly the same decision that Brad did. It's chilling. Sobering. Like you described, the signs are often subtle or just not there at all. I remember laughing with him one night at the gym prior.

I think it's important to recognise the fact that males largely feel a responsibility to provide or to be employed or to meet certain social frameworks or standards. When difficulty arises in matching this expectation there can be an element I think of shame or something perhaps deeper still whereby a male can feel worthless or like a failure for not earning enough or working at all or whatever it is.

I tend to think that females are less anchored to the expectations of gender roles and that's possibly got something to do with the statistics.

Thanks for sharing this difficult topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72