New Job, New Outlook: The First Day At A New Employer Today Sheds The Shackles Of The Past. I Think I Know Why...

in #life7 years ago

I just know my regular followers will be biting their nails waiting to hear how my first day on the job went today. Top notch is the quick response.

Screenshot_2017-08-28-20-08-05.png
How's this for an office view? The premises is the nicest I've ever worked in.

There's a laundry, games room, a catered kitchen and lunch room, sitting areas (google style), balcony with city views, BBQ, fruit, drinks, coffee, tea, just everything you'd expect. It seriously looked like a QANTAS club that you'd enjoy time in before a business class flight.

The people were lovely and I actually genuinely felt welcome. I even enjoyed the drive in and the drive home. It was comfortable and relaxed despite the traffic. What more could you ask for from a first day?

Like many people I'm sure however, regardless of how experienced I am or how much exposure to starting at a new firm I may have had, I've always suffered from the classic butterflies in the stomach or elevated heart rate... the normal nerves. I've never been able to rationalise why. I mean that's a school boy type reaction to a new environment, right? I'm a professional after all.

In my professional career, I've never had need to feel that way. I've always worked in white collar environments and have been greeted largely with professionalism and helpful attitudes. Well, today, for the first time every, I can honestly say that I didn't get that physiological reaction.

This could be largely because I've recently crossed a threshold in life where I'm increasingly able to identify the valuable things in life and not place much importance on everything else (work being one of those things). I think however there's something else that worked to my advantage.

You see, recently I've given up caffeine. I've learned something important about matching diet to personality type (something I plan to blog about in the near future) but suffice to say now that the lack of stimulation I think really allowed me to calmly enjoy the experience today without the usual silly "nerves".

So a quick post but something important for me in terms of self discovery and self respect. Remember, I'm only starting this job because I took a personal stand at the last place of employment and voluntarily left. Had I not done this, I wouldn't be working in the palatial environment I am now.

Thanks for reading! More to come...

Sort:  

I am very happy to hear this. Something tells me that you would have had a positive experience regardless of where you started a new job as you have also changed. There is a saying that your being attracts your life. Bonne chance!

That's what we call an office with a view. The nerves and butterflies just means you are still human. I think you should be more worried if you didnt get the butterflies before something like this

Good point @jasonshick. In fact I did have that thought during my calm day yesterday. I'd wondered if life would become more like watching a movie if you never really "felt" you way through parts of it. Interesting and thanks for the comment

Nice post. . .
I like post.

Glad to hear that you liked it @agusscout

Awesome post keep it going.

I hope you will enjoy your new work!! ;-)

So do I @hugetechnews! Thanks for the well wishes 👍

Good post ..like it!

Great to hear @mian290. Thanks

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nolnocluap from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Best of luck!! Job done with pleasure makes life better

Hit the nail on the head there @conasulucian. That's what I'm striving for. Thanks for the good luck wishes!

Nice post. Resteemed.

Thanks for your support @pf-coin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39