Village Life: Pros and Cons of Living in the Countryside

in #life6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

I've lived in rural areas nearly all my life. Currently, my family and I live about two miles away from a decent-sized town, and about 15 miles from the capital of the state. Keep going north and you get into the largest populations.

There is no bus travel or any other form of public transportation (maybe a tax service), so we do rely quite heavily on our own vehicles to get us places, like work and shopping.

Still, the few times I've lived in a larger urban area, and the conveniences of them, haven't compared to the benefits of living in the rural area. So, in my case, the pros have always outweighed the cons, with the most significant caveat being personal transportation. I think that does make all the difference.

Just a thought. What about a bike or even moped or motorcycle? Would any of those be readily obtainable? Seems to me with the bus stopping on its way to your Zumba class you could get there in a shorter amount of time even by bike. Of course, after that workout, you might not want the Zumba class. :)

Hi Glen, thank you so much for taking time to leave a comment!

In your case I think that relying on your own vehicles is the best option. I would probably do the same if I had drivers licence, haha. Need to get one in the near future.

It's nice to hear that, from your personal experience, you still appreciate all the benefits of living in a rural area.

For me it would not be convenient to buy a motorcycle now and get the licence. For bike rides I would really have to shape up, haha! There is a Danube river going from my place to the city and alongside the river, half of the way, there is a bike trail but the other half was never finished. That would be a great way to avoid the traffic on the main road and get to the city faster.

Thanks again for stopping by, have a lovely weekend!

That's too bad about the bike trail. Not a fan of motorbikes myself, but I thought I'd throw it out there. Sounds like, though, maybe you need a boat! Or some enterprising soul needs to start some kind of ferry boat commute service. :) Have a good weekend, too.

Yes, thats life. Every coin has two sides;) Great shots of flowers!
Enjoy upcoming weekend:)

You are right! :)
Thank you so much and I wish you a joyful weekend too!

The village is one huge yard for children:) I don't live in a village, but I live on the outskirts of the town in a house with a large yard and lots of trees. I would never change the house for an apartment, although it is more practical for life. I was not happy when I moved out of Belgrade,where I studied, but now, when I have children, I think differently. Today children do not climb trees, do not play with mud, do not pull out the earthworms and have no contact with nature. Thanks for the wonderful text @nikolina :)

Oh, that sounds nice, you also get the best of both worlds! :)
I guess that through different stages of our lives, our perspectives and desires also change.

And I do agree that children nowadays don't know how to play in nature or even with toys like we used to do for hours. If we were left alone in nature, we would definitely survive, I can't say that for kids nowadays, haha! :D

Thank you for your comment, I really enjoyed reading it!

I think you are pretty lucky to live in the countryside since that is what I also like and enjoy because you can enjoy the freedom, nature and everything that I love.
I'm not a big city person, since I have always enjoyed nature and gardening and outdoor activities.
Great post @nikolina

Thank you @joalvarez!
From your posts, words and photos, I would say that you really seem like a person who absolutely loves and appreciates nature and everything that comes with it, hehe.

photo from the entrance of the dance studio

This is something i plan to do in my house.

It looks amazing and I think it's cool for a space like entrance or anywhere where you don't spend too much time, because it can be very distracting and reflective, haha! :D

Entrance hall covered with cd's, living room with vinyl records. :)

Sounds like a plan! :D

Plan is to buy gramophone and vinyls. But I am interested in uncommon wall decorations too. :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 87 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38