Living with Red-whiskered (Bulbul)!

in #life6 years ago

Once a sweet morning I saw two black birds were coming frequently to my balcony. It was Red-whiskered (Bulbul); In Bangladesh it is well-known as Bulbuli.

1.JPG

The birds were very fidgety, so it was difficult to take its close-up pictures. That day I was in a hurry to drop my son at his school and then ran for my office.

I usually come back from my office at the evening. Next morning I saw the birds were making a nest between two strings; the strings were tied with one hook, the nest foundation was on the hook to make it stable. These strings were to dry our wet cloths at natural air. I was a bit hesitate either allow them to make the nest or not. It was my holiday and my son was in the house also, I asked my wife to know, what to do? She was trying to say it would be the cause of dirt. But strong opposes came from my 12 years son. He was very excited with the birds and its nest. We could not be so much cold-hearted to the birds also.

Within few days they completed their nest. My son was very curious about the birds and its nest, each and every day he would see the improvement; at least once. One afternoon he called me to my office phone to inform that the bird had been laid three brown dotted cream color eggs. He was very excited and informed it to almost all of his friends.

2.JPG

Nest building to egg lay did not take so much times. It was happening very fast one after one.

Then waiting for the young birds, when would it be come out from the eggs. The mother bird was hatching and the father bird took the job of security and arranging food for the mother bird. At that time the father bird was quite offensive, did not allow any body near the nest.

4.JPG
5.JPG

We did not disturb them so much. It took about two weeks to come out the young birds from the eggs. Two young birds come out from the eggs. We were very happy to see that the process was going to be ended.

3.png

That time the parent birds were aggressive and made huge noise to seeing anybody near the nest.
Both birds were passing very busy time to collect foods for their new born chick. Suddenly after few days we found one baby bird is out of the nest and standing on the string, other was inside the nest.

6.JPG

On the next morning we saw one little bird along with its parents flown way and other young bird was staying inside the nest. It seems that the baby bird was a bit weak and unable to fly.

7.png

We found the Red-whiskered and its chick were on a branch of a tree in front of our house.
Suddenly one bird came back and tried to attack us. We come back inside the house and observed its activity through the window. Most probably it was father bird; though it was difficult to identify mother bird and father bird by body color. The color and attitude of both birds were same. However the father bird was trying to inspire its kid to fly. But all efforts of the bird were in vain. Then the bird was looking very cruel and destroyed the nest. The young bird fell down on the floor and fail to stand on its own leg. Both parents came back together and made huge noise. It was difficult for me to realize that whether it were shouting to its chick or crying for its weak chick. After few hours both birds went back to its other baby.
8.JPG

My son and I took the responsibility of the baby bird.

9.JPG

I searched for the food habit of the young Red-whiskered and got good tips to take care of young weak bird.

10.JPG

Within 3 to 4 days the bird could able to stand on its own leg. I kept it on string to inspire it to fly. It could not fly but it could hold the string with its nails and spread its both wings.

11.JPG

Next two days I tried to motivate it to fly, I drop it down from a certain height for flying. Gradually it was improving its flying ability.

12.JPG

13.JPG

Finally we were very happy to see its flying inside my house.

14.JPG

15.JPG

The parents of the young bird were living on a small tree along with its other chick in front of my house. It used to come almost every day to my balcony for its missing chick.

I kept the baby bird at my balcony for its parents. Within few minute its parents came there and flew way with its missing chick. We were observing it through the window. My wife and I were very delighted that we could give back the baby bird to its parents safely. But my son was crying to see that the baby bard was not anymore with us.

We saw the birds more than one month around our house, also at our balcony for few times.
Then onward the birds were disappeared from our sight. May be it had been left the concrete city for the forest.

16.JPG

Sort:  

Hi @nihar1969, great post friend :)

Thanks dear.

Very nice pictures , who loves animals is a good person

Great Post! Congratulations! Thank you for sharing! You got $1 upvotes from me!

It’s my pleasure that you have liked my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75