Benefits of a cold shower - My own Cold Shower Challenge

in #life7 years ago

Hello Steemit Friends !!

As from today on, I am going to try accomplish a personal challenge with my strength I want to share with you also some of the benefits of what I challenged myself to do in the next 30 days.

Cold Showering and its benefits for your health.


Steemit shower 2.jpg

The benefits of cold shower are multiple, as many talk about 10, other about 15, or 20, I am going to list here only a couple of them, which I believe are the most relevant ones and which I experienced myself in the past.

3.jpg

1. Improves the blood circulation through your body


One of the most important think for anyone's heath is the blood circulation which is essential for the cardiovascular system and this can be crucial for a person's life. The alternation between warm and cold water under the shower is a method that I use since I was a child and I can say that it improved a lot my blood circulation. My blood pressure is always constant with little fluctuation. Technically speaking the exposure of your body to cold water it produces a decrease of the your arteries and veins diameter, which in the end it determines an increased pressure of your blood, as the same amount of blood is circulating through a reduced space. The natural fact that it happens then is that your heart is sending more blood and faster than usual, to your vital organs to keep them at an optimal temperature and therefore the hole blood circulation is increased producing an helpful exercise that can get your body used to such conditions. Why is it so important to have a healthy blood circulation, well, because this will prevent the apparition of high blood pressure and will keep your blood pressure constant. A good blood circulation will also keep your arteries and veins in a good condition and will prevent the apparition of varices and hart attacks.
Personally an alternation between cold and warm under the shower is the method that I recommend. In my case it helps me also to think faster and be creative.

Steemit shower.jpg

3.jpg

2. Your immunity will be increased

If you constantly take showers with cold water, your organism immunity will considerably increase and your capacity to fight agains infections and diseases will be higher than normal. If you think about it better, and you take the example of the northern people, the human body is made to be highly adaptable, which means that if you get used to something that something will not affect your body anymore, simple as that. People who have cold showering as a normal thing in their lives are seeing an extremely reduced risk of cancer, hemorrhoids, varicose veins or any other colds and viruses.

3.jpg

3. Body temperature will be adjusted


Several studies have demonstrated that the body temperature is adjusted at the optimal value and besides this the quantity of sweat that your body produces is consistently reduced when taking frequent showers with cold water. In other words, if you have problems with your hands and legs being cold or you sweat a lot in the hot temperatures, the cold shower will avoid this problems for you.

3.jpg

4. Avoid insomnia and improves the quality of your night sleep


I am a morning person and therefore I take my daily cold shower in the morning before going to work. That wakes me up from the deaths, no matter how sleepy I am, my morning will be much more energized. The shock that the cold water produces to my body when it is nervously overwhelmed and highly tired will considerably reduce the level of stress and will fill my energy tank.
3.jpg

5. It helps fight against depression

The cold water is stimulating the circulation of blood through the brain and consequently is stimulating an area of the brain which is the source of the nor-adrenaline, a substance that is helps reduce depression. Personally, in most of the mornings after my cold shower I have feeling of euphoria and positive energy. This feeling can be compared from my experience with the feelings that I have after a good achievement in sports.

I know that for many of you think that this practice will fell like Jack Nicholson in the picture below frozen under the shower, but after you try it for a couple of times I promise that you will get used to it and after you also see the benefits on your health, you will be keen of cold showering.

Jack.jpg

Image source: https://ro.pinterest.com/pin/64880050854473759/

Sort:  

With a little exercise I am sure you could do it in the end.

No way, man. No way. I like hot running water too much :D

good reminder why I am getting through my cold showers.

Also cold showers or ice baths have been showing good results against inflammation and recovery times for athletes

Thanks @flipstar! Good point about the athletes. Indeed I remember seeing a documentary about this technique used by the athletes to recover. It is a god point that proves some of the benefits that I described.

Lol i agree with all these benefits but man a warm shower on a cold morning is amazing

Yeh @clouda ! This challenge is easier during the hot summer. The cold morning is not that cold anymore.

when I started taking cold showers, I started with a warm one and then turned it to cold and started with the legs going up. In the Wim Hof course it is mentioned you can leave out the head for a while.

You adjust pretty quick.

omg I am gonna try this challenge myself.. thanks for sharing.

Hey @aburmeseabroad! Let us know how you feel after that. I trust you will see the benefits quite early in the challenge.

You got some balls man, I couldn't do it.

You will. Just take it slow. At first just hold it for a couple of seconds, then alternate it to warm water, until you get used to it.

i don't like cold water but after this post, my opinion change <3 good post

It will change more when you will see the benefits of it. Just try it.

@@ -151,8 +151,77 @@
hower!!!

  • Only problem with cold shower is, i cant shower too long..so how lol

At the beginning you can start with only a couple of seconds and alternate to warm water.

Congratulations @nicolaepavelean! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I accept the challange! It won't be so hard for me because I was doing it before... I heard about benefitial effect it has on muscles after hard training session, so I had to practice it. :D

Good for you! I think I will continue with it more than 30 days because I feel great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65