Essence of Life ....

in #life7 years ago (edited)

“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you !” (Bible) …..

This is the only truth.
The singular parameter of humane behaviour. The only justice which is true justice ! And the only ethic that defines all ethics.

Social ethics change with time, space and environment.“What is vice today, is virtue tomorrow”.
But, human ethics remain the same. They never change.
Social mores are governed by time, space, environment and cultural and religious thoughts and beliefs. Social ethics are basically rules and regulations to govern a social system by exercising external control over the collective thoughts and behaviour of the masses.

However, “Human Ethics” are irrespective of and independent of external influences of time, space and environment. ‘Human Ethics” remain the same forever.

If honesty and compassion were virtues yesterday, then honesty and compassion are virtues today too. If empathy and respect are virtues in Christianity, then empathy and respect are virtues in Hinduism too. Human Ethics are governed by our internal psychological make-up .

The question is “what principal value is at the core of human values and ethics” .
In my opinion, there is only one principal at the core of all human ethics. — “Do unto others, as you want them to do unto you”

Every religion, culture & philosophy has advocated this. “People” unanimously agree to this !!! And even claim to follow it . But, unfortunately, the mass of “humans” have never ever truly practised it.
All source of crime and degeneration arises from having two rule-books — one for ourselves and the other for the rest of the world.

It is important to understand that what hurts me is bound to hurt others too.
If I do not like being ridiculed, then I should not ridicule others !
If I do not like being ignored, then the same is true for others too. Nobody likes being ignored !!!
If a criminal likes to torture, then the same criminal must learn to suffer the same torture !
If I want my child to respect me, then first I must respect my child !
If I don’t want to be cheated upon, then I should not cheat !
If I want my culture, my identity, my Religion and my perceptions to be understood and respected, then I must express the same tolerance and respect and understanding for others too.
If …….
The list is endless ….

When we look around we see bullies. Human society is a society of bullies who practice two rule-books. Social bullies, Political bullies, Emotional & Psychological bullies, Physical bullies. Bullies ! Bullies! Bullies! This is the root cause of all crime, degeneration, sorrow and war ! -

The resources, skills and power we possess​, are our blessings and strengths. They are not our weapons of subjugation to be used to oppress or hurt others.

What goes forth, comes around. It is a good idea to send forth what you want to receive !!

In the end , it is good to always remember — “a smile begets a smile” ……


.................................................................

by Neha Bisht @nehab

                                                         Thanks for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66