Random Rambling Rambler :: Random Stuff

in #life6 years ago

I am interrupting my regularly scheduled fiction and photography posts for some random rambling. Plenty of other folks put their own personal insights and mindsets into words on Steemit. So I will do the same, treating this more as a blog than a publishing platform.

At least for one post.

Winds of Change

Pretty windy here in South Florida. And I don’t mean the kind that ruffles your hair or blows your skirt up. It’s just that time of year for us where we head north for the summer. We head back to our place in Wisconsin every year at the beginning of June, usually for three months. It’s an odd couple weeks leading up to June, since my wife is very busy with end-of-school-year teaching activities, and we’re also wanting to do any last minute fun things before we leave.

Not to mention we’re already starting to pack, and prep to pack, and making lists of what to do before we leave, and getting people on board to watch our house, check mail, clean the pool, mow the lawn, etc.

I don’t really have any family down here in Florida, so we have to pay everyone to do this, and it’s a lot of organizational energy.

Motorhome Madness

As of last year, we have a motorhome for travel purposes. We tow a car with us so we have something to drive up in Wisconsin. I have remodeling/replacing/repair projects to finish in the RV before we head up. Just more stuff to do to add to the list. But, of course, not everything needs to be done immediately. One of the things I do want done is to install the new memory foam mattress. The current mattress is less comfortable than a square of carpet, and just as flat.

Last Call for Fun

And since things aren’t weird enough this time of year, we’re going to Disneyworld this weekend. Why, you ask? Well, we bought tickets to go back around Thanksgiving last year when some in-law family came into town. They and my wife went to Disneyworld. I stayed home with my dying cat (who ended up not dying, yay!). Still, my tickets are going to expire if I don’t use them NOW, so...I’m using them NOW.

And I did want to check out the Avatar ride.

Last Call for Beer, Too

Whenever I head back north for the summer, I make a big batch of beer that I can let ferment here in Florida all summer so that I can look forward to kegging it up and tasting it when I return. This time, I made a batch of a Belgian Tripel with orange peel, star anise, and coriander. The goal is to have it be a clone of Tripel Karmeliet, one of my favorite (expensive) Belgian beers.


Hopefully all goes well. If you see a post from me in the next couple weeks that includes a lot of fire and exploding cars, we may have had an issue.

Sort:  

Belgian Tripel with orange peel, star anise, and coriander ... that sounds delicious and screams fall. I don't drink too much these days ... I am a yawn that way ... but I do like wine when I do ... I am one of those people that will tell the wine smells of apples and cat piss and then drink it anyways... lol. But about once a year, I get a really good beer and have it with fries ... another naughty treat. So good ... save me a beer, man:)

Woot! Exciting times. It's exciting leading up to a long quasi vacation. Wish I could try that beer. Sounds amazing. As soon as get in our house, I think we'll experiment more with that. Looking forward to seeing you :)

Thanks! :) I heard you chatted briefly with @morodiene about us visiting. We have a bunch of things going on this summer (none of which have firm dates yet, of course), but we can push our trip to Arkansas more towards August if you want.

Have a safe trip back up here to da great white north, eh!
Although, the snow is all melted away now, so I guess it's the great green north now... :-)

Thanks! I'm leaving FL just in time too. It's been rainy, and the skeeter population is expected to explode.

Not literally explode, unfortunately.

I'm sure you'll be welcomed with open wings by the Wisconsin skeeter population... :-)

I can do all that for free expect clean your pool. Just saying, I’m here for you kiddos! By the time you return I’ll be one week away from Europe. 0_0 Also, I love these stories you share. I request more. Please and thank you, hug Moro for me too.

Thanks kubby :) We have a nice church lady stopping by each week that we had last year. So far she hasn't thrown any crazy parties at our place while we've been away....that we know of, anyway

So she’s the margarita lady from that party last year. You’re right no parties to be accounted for :)

I seem to be reading your blog out of order! Missed this one. I didn’t know you spent summers in Wisconsin. That is awesome. The summers are awesome up here in the Midwest and I can only imagine they are not great in Florida. What an interesting pattern! So many people live most of the year up here and take off for the winter. You live most of the year down there and take off for the summer. Huh. That’s a unique approach, and certainly you get the best of both worlds that way!

MY WHOLE LIFE IS OUT OF ORDER!

But yea, I was born and raised in WI, but moved to FL for music/opera/teaching opportunities for the wife, and most of those would occur during the normal school year.

When summer rolls around, we are OUTTA here. It's already too hot to survive. I'm pretty much moist 24/7 now.

Looks like we have same favorite beer..cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85