But What Now?

in #life3 years ago

As someone in her mid-twenties, I constantly hear that this is the time of my life and I should be taking on every adventure. I don't know what adventure they are talking about because I feel like I'm in a constant state of anxiety, worry and a cycle of imposter syndrome.

A year ago, I was working in a job that I was extremely unhappy in, and I kept trying to convince myself everything was fine because from the outside it was a great job and opportunity. When I finally came to the realization that I was the only person holding myself back from being happier, I quit my job and went back to school for something I was actually passionate about. The ironic part about quitting is that I still feel anxious, have worries, and have imposter syndrome.

Not that I thought quitting my job would solve all my problems, but I thought that once I was doing something I was passionate about the worries and stress would lessen. That's the catch 22 about your 20's is that people tell you it should be the best time of your life, but its expected you'll just figure it all out on your own. Let me tell you as someone who was forced to make what felt like an earth ending decision to quit my first "real" job by figuring it all out on my own... it was not ideal.

I joined steemit as a way to build a community for those in our 20's who may feel a little lost and could benefit from a community of people who experience similar challenges. I have topics and stories to share, but I would encourage you to share your story in the comments and make this a dialogue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58925.39
ETH 2498.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48