When you spend to much time on the same thing for to long

in #life6 years ago

Back at work, back at exploring Linux more. The first part of the holiday is over. A much needed four days off to relax and clear my head from as much technology stuff as possible. I feel recharged and stable again, and am back at developing and expanding my tech skills.


25035945_141462986516920_7419888661941977088_n.jpg

Here I am continuing with the chapters in the book "Linux Command Line and Shell Scripting Bible, 3rd Edition by Christine Bresnahan; Richard Blum" that I have started two weeks ago.

When you get caught up too much in one part of life for too long

I find that sometimes we get so caught up in our responsibilities or a couple of things that they take over for a moment. It can be work related or otherwise. Taking a break for a day or two from it and focusing on other things can bring much needed clarity and stability back, it can have a replenishing effect on us.

Switch it up; try other things from time to time

For me, when I get too caught up in IT and technology stuff due to work and personal interests in IT and Software Development I can get to a point of getting lost for a moment in the same matter/subject (being IT and Programming). When I spend too much time on and in the same matter, subject of field it shows by me getting easier frustrated, stressed, more tired than usual, a feeling of monotony, a feeling of 'being on a conveyor belt' doing the same things in and out, and a general resistance towards waking up because I know I will be doing the same thing again. This is a signal for me to slow down, take a breath and plan-in a day or so off where I try to minimize as much as possible of the same activity and engagement in it as I can. I switch things up and put my focus and energy/effort on other things, such as oil painting, or more or different types of exercise.

Variety

Switching things up and doing other things once in a while allows us to introduce variety in our life and break free from monotony. I find this approach very effective in my life. It helps me remain emotionally and mentally stable a lot better and for a lot longer. It's like a fresh breeze of air you take in and it fills your entire self, mind and body with a freshness for life. I am able to look at and move forward in life and my reality with much clearer eyes and a calmer self.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49