You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE LONG, STRANGE JOURNEY HOME - Part 4 of 6 - CHILDBIRTH

in #life8 years ago

Good story, I enjoyed reading it!! My parents had the last 2 of their 5 at home in 1970 when it was illegal to have homebirths. Isn't it crazy that something like this could be legislated?!! My father would have been held liable for murder had anything gone wrong but my mother had a terrible experience in the hospital with her 3rd (me) when she had to literally fight (block and kick) the male doctor to prevent him from giving her drugs so she swore she wouldn't give birth in the hospital again unless it was life or death. I should also say that her previous deliveries went well as long as she wasn't battling the doctor. My parents were smart and courageous and were immigrants who had already done so many things their own way in other areas of life also so they decided to take the risk at home. That night the midwife who they had enlisted to help them got scared and bailed out once my mother went into labor. My parents did it alone and fortunately it went very well! By the time they had their 2nd successful home birth, they had already been instrumental in influencing the mid-wifery program at Yale University which soon after was responsible for the resurgence of the home-birthing movement in the U.S. I love reading your stories, keep them coming!!

Sort:  

Wow, what a story!

Thanks for sharing and for encouraging!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40