Keeping up with the Joneses... I don't think so.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg

As parents, we all tend to fall into this trap at one time or another. First steps, first words, vocabulary, potty training, reading, writing... in my opinion, it's not important exactly when these things happen. And obsessively striving for them is really not much different than trying to keep up with the joneses. Why put that pressure on a child when we hate it as adults? We can educate our children without comparing and still end up with intelligent and motivated children. I'm personally shooting for true happiness for my daughter... and health, self sustainability, and self defense. I am most likely preaching to the choir in this community though. Thank goodness for Steemit!

Sort:  

great post! It is so unnecessary to "keep up with the joneses" Imagine how much $ you can save and reinvest it instead of foolishly dumping $ on a Mercedes or Maserati? Besides, cars is one of the worst investment in my not so humble opinion. I see that you are in San Diego ? I followed you, would you do the same for me?

thanks!

glad you agree! yes i am in san diego :) seriously on the car... can you imagine putting those dollars into steem instead?! lol. i followed in return... thank you for sharing your thoughts!

you are very welcome and hope you have a great day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83