The Day Slayer Played

in #life7 years ago (edited)

download (76)88.png

Here's a short story that takes place back in the 1980's, I was around the age of 16. Heavy metal band Slayer was heading to town to perform a show. They were headlining a club in Milwaukee WI. I went down to the club early and waited. I didn't have any money nor did I have a ticket. I just went anyway. I got there really early. So, I went over to a "Record" store that was across the street from the show. I just hung out and passed the time. As luck would have it. While I was there, Tom (singer) came in to the store. I eagerly approached him, I told him that I wanted to see the show. The problem I had was that I was under the age required which was 18.

Tom told me come with him, so I quickly followed behind him. We got over to where the road crew was unloading the equipment. Tom told me to grab a piece of equipment and follow him inside the club. He told the security that I was with him and the band. I kind of made myself useful helping where I could. After a while Tom told me I could just hang out back stage and that he and the band would be back later. That's what I did.

While I waited I had a couple beers and played it up to the local opening bands like I was with the crew. After all I did know a little bit about them all, I had been a fan for a while. Later when the band returned. I went out in the with the crowd and watched them jam. It was awesome they jammed so hard. At that period in time Slayer and Metallica were the best on the scene. After the show was over, I asked Tom if I could take a photo with him? He said yes, then he called Dave , Jeff and Kerry over and all of us where in my picture. I could not believe how well they had treated me, I really felt like I was part of the crew. They were genuine, real guys that could relate to were I was coming from.

That was a Fucking Great Day. Thirty years later I still remember how I felt that day and that night. Those guy's really do give a shit about every fan.!!!!
....Tom.........Dave.......... Jeff......... Kerry
imagesjkhhb.jpg

((((((()

If you like this post, Please UpVote and Follow me...

steemit board & animation
created by @arcange

Sort:  

You must also check out Judas Priest, especially their song "Painkiller". By the way, Slayers were heavily influenced by Judas Priest. In fact, they started off by playing covers of Judas Priest songs.

@hmushtaq Which album is that on? I am old school like screaming with vengeance and breaking the law. I probably have heard it but didn't know the name?

The album's name is also Painkiller. It was released in 1990.

Thanks, I will give it a listen.

Your post resteemed and upvoted by @yusifm
Send 0.05 SBD for an Resteem+upvote . Just your link in memo section with payment. Premium-send 1 sbd for unlimited resteem

@yusifm Well alright. Thanks for your support.

@cleverbot What do you think of this post?

I don't know about it.

Well, it's about hanging out with a heavy metal band, Isn't that pretty cool?

Okay what you doing.

This Post is resteemed by @resteemitnow

|| POST RESTEEMED + UPVOTED ||

Want to Boost your Posts?

Introduction Post Read here

Just send 0.060 SBD NOW

I appreciate it. Thank you

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @naturalguy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Once again you have given me your support. I really do appreciate that, thanks.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using and supporting @resteemr


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

@resteemr Awesome support, thanks.

@d-drummer Thanks. It was really cool. Dave Lombardo tore it up that night. He was way faster than Lars. Both were bad ass then and still are. Then it was new and they led the scene. Armored Saint had a good drummer too. Gonzo S. Sorry I had a flashback those days were Awesome! Thanks, appreciate it.

Definitely! :D I am very glad that music influences in this way the memory of people. What an awesome experience! I'm very happy for you, @naturalguy!

Thanks, I used to live for concerts. They didn't cost a fortune back then. I am blown away how much tickets go for now.

It is not easy to go to some concerts, mainly of iconic bands. As a drummer, I confess that the best part of my job is playing live. It is a wonderful feeling to create a connection with the public.

This Post is also resteemed by @saadijaz

|| I RESTEEMED EVERY LINK SHARED BY RESTEEMITNOW||

How to use service

Introduction Post How to use

Excellent, Thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64167.02
ETH 2769.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67