You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections on the Sunshine Laws

in #life6 years ago

I could not agree more. FOIA has many flaws, from what I've heard (certainly in the UK where I live, some institutions make FOIA requests as difficult, expensive and long-winded as they can) - however I've also heard of many instances where FOIA requests have been very useful and enlightening.
But your wider point, on the importance of getting involved with government and using these instruments to question, challenge and monitor our institutions, is so true! I need to do more of this myself. I used to write to my local MP quite often, but since the current government came in, my new MP (member of parliament) has responded to all my mails with a standard letter/email saying that he is too busy to respond. I think this is a shocking state of affairs, as the whole point of having an MP is to represent the public in Parliament. That is what democracy is meant to be about.
I have lots of ideas and thoughts about this, and I rarely get round to putting any of them into practice. I no longer vote, because I don't want to give my assent to this corrupt system. But I think we should ALL become more politically active in this way – challenging our authorities and representatives.

Sort:  

I too have received meaningless form letters from state and federal representatives. The FOIA kind of adds an edge to this in the sense that if we're asking, we're watching.

Another fun thing to do with FOIA is to prove that a document does not exist. Consider a point of authority and ask for a copy of the document that grants authority for such action. If they can't point to a law, and there is no document to support the action, then there is no authority for it, either.

I've done that a few times and it's a really cool feeling to see an agency admit it lacks the power to do something it had already done.

Interesting... you've got me thinking now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59139.79
ETH 2511.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41