Jessie

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I first met Jessie when I landed on these shores in 2011. She lived outside the 7/11 opposite my condo.

In Thailand, there are many street dogs, or soi dogs as they are called here. Strays that roam their own part of the street and forage for scraps although many benevolant Thais often drop them bags of rice to eat and some are given collars, to make them look like they are owned to stop them being taken away during the very ocassional round-ups.

IMG_20171216_204140.jpg

I used to sit on the step outside the 7/11 each morning with instant coffee and pre-packaged 'croissant' and watch the world go by, and Jessie would come over and lay beside me and look up at me. It only took a couple of days for me to add a sausage to my morning menu and the thing that struck me was how gentle she was when she took food from your hand. A further couple of days later, our relationship had progressed to her waiting for me to come out at the right time and running up to me, excitedly. That was it, we were mates it seemed!

To be fair, she was a wily operator, or to be completely blunt, a right old tart! She had many benefactors at various points of the day, and if I happened to be there when one of the more generous types called by, I'd be temporarily dropped like a hot brick, but not many stayed sitting there drinking coffee like I did three or four times a day, and she'd be straight back after doing her 'sweet little doggie' act and earning her reward!

During the terrible floods at the end of 2011, I'm not sure who, but she was taken to safety and returned, when we all did three months later when the water had subsided enough for us to wade through it. She must have had some fun on her holidays as when she came back, she was expecting and duly delivered six gorgeous puppies a few weeks later, many of the locals were quite excited and we all waited for the day. I didn't see her for a few days but came out one morning and as I took my place on the step, over she squeezed out from under a car with something squirming in her mouth and dropped it at me feet, she repeated this again and again until these 6 little bundles of fluff were wobbling around and trying to get their bearings, we ate breakfast while the little 'uns played and when I got up to leave, she started carrying them back under the old car.

IMG_20180613_205346.jpg

They were very cute and as happens here, they were quickly taken by people as pets I guess, but no doubt only whilst they were still cute.

So in 2015 I moved, about 6 miles away but still went back every week to see her and she didn't forget, still greeting me like an old friend, whining and jumping up, or I'd pretend to run away and she'd chase me. Even if I couldn't see her, a gentle whistle would bring her scurrying out from wherever she was snoozing.

After my 6 month hiatus in the UK this year, I came back and hopped straight on the bike and there she was, I whistled and she looked straight up and squinted and then ran over, fussing me and whining and as we sat enjoying a coffee and some doggy chews, I realised she was getter older. A bit slower, and I got the impression she couldn't see too well. I of course had no idea how old she was, but she still looked pretty well.

About three weeks ago I went, she wasn't there. I had a quick look around but nothing, and two or three further visits, same result. I could of asked in the shop, or at the noodle stall in the car park, but didn't really want to. Until last Sunday, when knowing I was soon going to be travelling back to the UK for Christmas, I thought I better ask.

The noodle seller, a woman in her seventies at least, watched me approach.
"Ma tay leaw".

In my life, I've loved more animals than people, and most definitely, more animals than people have loved me.

Jessie was a beautiful, sweet natured soul and I will miss her. Wherever I go, I play with stray dogs and cats, but there was just something so special in those big brown eyes.

IMG_20180613_205419.jpg

IMG_20171216_204136.jpg
[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 13.951417 lat 100.642876 long Jessie d3scr)

Sort:  

Your story telling made me feel like I was there...👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much mate, what a lovely thing to say :-)

There is just something magical about the bond between human and dog.

Posted using Partiko iOS

There certainly is Indigo.

Poor dog. I know it probably wasn't the worst life for her but all i really want to do is adopt the poor thing and bring her home. It's sad how some animals are treated but at least you and others gave her some love and made her feel welcome while she lived.

To be fair, most of strays are relatively well looked after, but it still breaks your heart. They are everywhere and they breed. Neutering is the answer but no one will pay. At least they dontnget put down as its a Buddhist country. You can barely find a vet who will put down even the most ill dog.

It's good that somebody is caring for them at least. We have problems here with unwanted animals too and while there are people doing great work to help them it's never enough. There are never enough resources to look after all of them. Fair play to all the people who do put in the time and the money though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah that was a great story!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nathen007
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=jessie


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @nathen007!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.092 which ranks you at #3293 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 155 places in the last three days (old rank 3448).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97