Power of memory

in #life6 years ago

76655a82-2ecd-4f35-9a92-3af82e2ffe27.jpeg


Flashback to early childhood.
A little 2 year old Nathan being held by Mum and big brother @youroptions standing by.

Some people don’t recall much of their early childhood. I recall a lot from very early on.
You know, I even remember what those clothes, that I’m wearing in that photo, felt like on my body.

Unfortunately, I don’t have many childhood photos due to a fire destroying many of them, a cyclone destroying many of them and then also a flood destroying what remained.

Like people from indigenous cultures, I only have my memories left and thankfully they’re strongly imprinted into my consciousness.
The good. The bad. The exciting. And the mundane.


Please make sure you vote for @pfunk, @ausbitbank, @followbtcnews, @aggroed, @curie as witnesses here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses. These beautiful beings do lotsa good.


I try my best to check out the blogs of my genuine upvoters as well as those of you who do genuine comments and especially those who follow me…


Also, I'm a proud helpinaut!
Join the PALnet Discord group and be active there. Our scouts are in there all the time seeking new Helpienauts for our discord group!.
You could be one of them! https://discord.gg/fzxbrpD
Helping is the #1 goal!




Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Your mum is totally rocking the 70s hair! I love it.

That's a shame about your photos. Before I left Australia I went to my dad's and got all our childhood photos and scanned them. It took about a month since I tried my best to sort them into chronological order, and they are all shared with my family. At least if the paper versions get destroyed, the digital copies are safe (I hope) in the google photos cloud!

I know right! Mamma was a styling hottie in the 70's!

Re: photos: What you wouldn't believe is that long after the fire and cyclone, I realsied that I should digitise all the remaining photos that my dad still had, so I asked him to give me the photos to digitise, but this was back in 2005. I didn't own a scanner, which meant taking digital photos with my then GF's fancy digital SLR-like camera (it'd be a friggin' dinosaur now). Which proved to be so laborious that I decided to put it off until I was to come back from a 3 month international tour. Well, when I left my GF left me for another guy a put all of my stuff in the outside shed at my ex's house (despite me asking her to put my gear in a storage unit). Whilst I was away it got flooded. All remaining childhood photos destroyed...
Sorry for the long story
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Oh no! That's a terrible story. :(

I know right, but I didn’t even get angry about it at the time. What would be the point? Once it’s gone it’s gone. I couldn’t bring it back.
All water under the bridge a long time ago.

I love feeling into memories. Such formative times we can't get back. You're blessed to hold the memories in your body.

My partner and her mom (@birdsinparadise) did a fab recreation of a similarly aged photo and held a contest. Not many participants yet though.

It's always a joy to appreciate moments that won't ever happen again.

Thank you . I do feel blessed to hold those memories in my being, in my cells. I just wish I could show my daughters what their dad was like as a child, but alas, that's something they'll need to imagine just like most generations had to prior to the industrial revolution...
Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

I feel ya. I don't have kids, but it's amazing to think of showing my niece pics, family objects and such from past generations. I've enjoyed seeing pics and drawing and writing from my great grandfather who was born 130 years ago. A little insight into the other 199 800 years of human resistance eh...

blessed be

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48