Yes I'm disabled - or am I?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

 

I had a few minutes this morning to head down and drink a coffee before continuing with my day.  While I drank coffee I formulated how I would write this post.  I took some pictures hope you enjoy!  So here it goes...

What is my disability?


I suffer from a disease called Osteogenesis Imperfecta or OI for short.  It's more commonly called brittle bones, glass bones, milk bones, or weak bones.  And those common names don't really get to the root of the disease more the injuries that occur from it.  Basically my body produces defective collagen that surrounds your bones and makes them harder and stronger.  There really isn't much difference in my actual bones just that my collagen around them doesn't do its job.

How did I get this disease?


One word genetics.  Yes from my grandfather's mother's side is where it entered my family.  My grandfather had a very mild form.  He worked on his feet like my father and both of them got luckier on the DNA dice roll than I did.  The classification I have varies I believe I was a 3 but since puberty I'm closer to a 2.  Puberty can improve some patients affected to a milder or stronger classification than previous ones.

What's the prognosis Doc?


I've had it since birth (around 25 bone fractures in all), will have it my entire life, and no pill or therapy can change my genes but hey so what.

Do I struggle with it?


To answer that one I must first address the past.  As a child growing up yeah I did at times but then again every kid has some kind of struggle figuring out the larger world out there. After high school and college I'd answer with a no.  I know who I am and how I think, that's all I care about on that front.  It doesn't stop me at all.

What's the major issues facing the future?


My disease doesn't shorten my life so I'll have a lot of time to weigh in if I live to be an old man.  Right now my biggest pet peeve or gripe is not with ordinary everyday people its with lawyers, politicians, and political correctness.  Let me explain that last statement.  Throughout my life the political correctness makers or label makers have narrowed their ever present all seeing eye on me and all people who have some form of physical disability or issue with walking / getting around.  The labels have come and gone some of them that I remember are "physically challenged", "physically disabled", "disabled", "physically impaired", "handicapped", "ableism" and on and on.  The new one I want run over whoever created it is the "Disabled American" .  Identity politics on a medical condition?  Ger outta here with that noise...I don't care what term you want to use.

Outside of all that labeling the future is looking better all the time.  There are more adaptations and equipment that has improved my life and let me be more independent but you are going to laugh at this next detail.  With all the modern equipment you want to know the one item that helped me live away from home during college and helps me everyday with transfers?  Just an old sanded and sloped transfer wooden board.  haha

My main power chair I use is a new Permobil F3 model.  Pictures didn't come out right so I'll show you the clip of its features mine is all in black.

      

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. Very informative and enlightening to hear a different perspective of life.

Thanks for reading and following @aagent resteem if you or anyone wants to.

Already did my friend.

Right now my biggest pet peeve or gripe I have is not with ordinary everyday people its with lawyers, politicians, and political correctness.

Yes! I think we need to continue helping people see through the deception of labels. Every day, I see people speaking out against racism who are blindly falling for the same deception by propagating other kinds of labels and giving them negative characteristics.

Anyway, welcome! Can't wait to hear more of your perspective on life!

Thanks @gruppler stay tuned I blog about all kinds of things!

Thank you for sharing your story @natevegas

@gmuxx Thank you I'm glad you enjoyed.

Really interesting post. Great to read about others perspective.
@slayerkm

Thanks @slayerkm everyone is unique in some way.

That's what makes the human race facinating!

Hey Nate. I like your outlook on things. Couple questions for ya; are you a poker player in Vegas and did you ever see the movie unbreakable?

Yeah I swear I'm not the bad guy played by Samuel Jackson, and yeah I had some good nights and a few bad nights at the poker table back when Texas Hold'em got big there.

heheh. I guess you've seen it then :)
Can I ask what your thoughts were on the movie overall .
Was it bothersome that they made the bad guy 'mr glass'?

Nah you didn't know till almost halfway through the movie if I remember and it had some decent actors in it. I think I heard they are making a sequel so who knows.

Sequel?!? Nice. I really liked that movie (even though most people I ask seem to think it sucked hahah)

Hi Nateveges :):) Welcome! Glad to have you here. Your story sounds like an interesting one so I loo forward to following. If you're interested in photography and art then you might like to follow me as well. Again, welcome and have fun here :)

Thanks @goldenroom I have some different perspectives on life and other topics stay tuned!

Hey friend! great story! Im sorry you are dealing with that, however you have a great perspective, and wording! right all your thoughts down whenever, then come and post a story on here, (well i guess you already did that) I hope you have a great week!

It is all I know @ryanrizz and nothing has held me back in life.

Good! Great to hear!

Interesting post @natevegas thank you upvote. Greets

Thank you and followed as well @germanlifestyle

This was a really awesome post. Thanks for sharing such a personal story!

Thanks for those kind words @jrhughes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66