How to Work from Home without Losing Your Goddamn Mind

in #life7 years ago (edited)

WORK-FROM-HOME.jpg

What’s up Steemers and dreamers? I’ve been grading your brat’s SAT’s and standardized writing tests from the comfort of my own home for years now. And although my online job is about as far away from being a “dream job” as my stomach is from being a 6-pack, I keep at it because the schedule is flexible, and I can work anywhere in the world where there’s an internet connection and running water.

That said, I’ve learned a lot of tricks along the way that help me maintain sanity while wading through yet another “riveting” essay scribed by America’s future minds. Since I’m sure many people on this platform also work from home, I thought I’d share some tips with you.

Here’s Nate Lost’s list of tips to survive working from home without losing your goddamn mind:

  1. Just because you can smoke weed all day, doesn’t mean it’s a good idea.
  2. At some point (preferably, but not necessarily, before noon), get out of your pajamas.
  3. Your family or roommates will treat you like you’re not working. Remember, you are working.
  4. Occasionally imagine your room is an office, and that there are other people coming in and out of this office, like an actual office—and then clean that shit.
  5. Leave your house and go work in a café at least once every 32 hours. It helps to remember how to interact with human beings.
  6. Buy an ergonomic chair.
  7. Never start drinking more than an hour before the end of your shift.
  8. Try to stretch before and especially after work. You don’t have to overdo it, Mr. Yogi, but it’s important to remind your body that it is alive.
  9. Live somewhere cool. If you work online, why not work right by da beach, boi! Or in a city you always wanted to live.
  10. Travel. If you can do your job anywhere, then why not travel all over the world? A month here, a month there—get lost.
  11. If possible, get another job. I break up my monotonous online work by occasionally pedicabbing in New Orleans, a wild, physically demanding occupation that reminds me why I like sitting on my ass behind a computer and getting paid for it.
  12. After work, turn off your computer and get the f*ck outta the house!
  13. When you think your job sucks (which it very well might), be grateful that you’re not on the freeway, stuck in traffic, inhaling poisonous fumes and listening to NPR on your way to a job that sucks even more. Yes, at least you can do your shitty job in the comfort of your own home.

Well that’s it, folks. Pinkies up to all my people with computer careers. If you have any other tips, I’d love for you to share them in the comment section.

If you enjoyed this piece, please follow me @NateLost to see my most recent articles, podcasts and music.

Now #GetLost.

Sort:  

Hey Nate, This is my very first post I'm new to steemit and was checking post and had to read yours so I know what people really like.... I truly enjoyed it man....

Hey thanks a lot @mdinvest

Your more than welcome and I look forward to reading more of your post.

Enjoyed this article very much. I was in that situation for many years myself. There are both pros and cons to it for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65628.71
ETH 2669.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86