Six Months on STEEM + A New Posting Protocol

in #life6 years ago

6-months.jpg

Last week, I realized that I've been on Steem for six months now. SIX MONTHS!

Coincidentally, that landmark event occurred at almost the same time that I hit "dolphin" status on the platform. At least that's when the SteemPlus browser extension displayed the nifty dolphin badge on my profile.

By the way, if you're not using the SteemPlus extension, you're really missing out. @stoodkev has created something truly magnificent. It really elevates your Steem experience with all sorts of nifty features and information that just pops up seamlessly in the existing interface you're probably already using.

In only a matter of months, the Steem community has changed how I look at social media, business, life, gaming, and so many other things. Which is weird, right? Saying it out loud just sounds bizarre. Like I'm in a cult.

Wait, is this a cult?

My daughter's been talking about cults recently. Just for fun. As if joining a cult is something to do when you're bored. Like "hey, there's nothing on TV. Dad, put on this robe and chant at the clouds before the aliens arrive." It wouldn't necessarily shock me if she came back from college dressed in bubble wrap and taking orders from an enlightened parrot. She'd probably do it just to see how I react.

Regardless, my discovery of and engagement with Steem has pushed me to learn and grow in unexpected ways. It's been a lot of fun. I mean...A LOT!

The whole experience is like being part Pioneer, part Innovator, part Investor, part Club member, part Friendly Gathering participant.

It really speaks to the philosophy that Life is about the JOURNEY, not the destination.

good-life.jpg

And that's sorta the point of this post.

During the six months I've been on Steem, I noticed that the frequency of my posts is directly related to the time I have to produce "articles". I try to think of a worthwhile topic. I've gotta create decent supporting imagery, write it up, spell check and all the rest.

I know many of you want Steem to be full of thoughtful, intelligent, and well-written content. But GEEZ! I think I'd rather post smaller, wacky snippets of semi-nonsense if it means I get to connect more. Engage more. And if that means I end up wandering around aimlessly in the comments threads just talking about nothing in particular with new and interesting people...well, that's swell!

So my new Posting Protocol is this: I'm going to start posting whatever. At least I think I am. That is the Plan. Just post stuff. Snap some photos. Make some observations. Whatever.

In light of the fact that my posts may end up revolving around something as ludicrous as a photo of my rice pudding, please understand that I will not be offended if you reduce your Vote Value down to 1%. I'd rather get your "like" and a brief comment than have anyone worry about the upvote's fiat value. Friendship trumps all.

For the next six months, I will be focusing most of my time on how to be cool like @reseller. This means trying on various brands of sunglasses under different lighting conditions. I also need to settle on a pose that best highlights my masculine features.

Alright, that's enough for now. My anti-article post is turning into an article.

Tomorrow, I will attempt to post something that is almost completely and utterly devoid of thought or purpose. But fun! Maybe.

We'll see.

Holy crap, it's late.

sig-steem_@nateaguila.png

Sort:  

This post has received a 6.42 % upvote from @boomerang.

Thank you, boomerang! You’re a good friend.

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow.. good results for only 6 months.. I've been 8 months and still not going anywhere ;)

You’re good enough. You’re smart enough. And doggone it, people like you! Just keep swimming!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’d say sometimes I prefer small posts over long ones, just takes less time to read, I’m sure many others are the same.
Congrats on 6 months.

Thanks! All aboard the Spam Train! WEEeeeeeeee!!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @nateaguila!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.497 which ranks you at #1898 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 16 places in the last three days (old rank 1914).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 407 contributions, your post is ranked at #304.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94