Give me a kid to train anytime...

in #life7 years ago

as opposed to a 1300 lb or so horse....

After the last couple of days I have come that conclusion. 

potty training? easy money... 

sending kids to their rooms? dont even break a sweat...

yelling at kids? damn near a hobby now...

But training a horse?

Hard.Work.

My husband arranged for one of our friends who is a very good horse trainer (mainly parelli techniques if anyone is interested) to come over and help me work with Jumbo fairly frequently. Now, Jumbo is a great horse but does have a few bad habits that we need to work out. And he has some dominance issues. The people that had him, while they took very good care of him, didnt work with him much other than just riding him so this is all new to him. And he is actually doing great, he is curious, and a quick learner.

Ok, with that all being said, 

I think this getting me a horse, getting me a trainer, etc etc was not all sweet and such.

I think my husband is trying to kill me.

With horse training you do WAAAAAYYYY more work than the horse does. In fact a good portion of the time the horse stands there and looks at you with this mildly amused look on his face. 

So a good portion of the time not only are you all hot and sweaty and walking way more around your big ass horse pen than you evvvver wanted to, you also look and feel like an ass (and I dont mean donkey) doing it.

Kid training in much easier.

And I have homework too!!! I never had homework with kid training. I have to train Jumbo to do some very specific things by the time Jackie comes back. 

Ok, so I am actually enjoying it, horses are amazing creatures and are so very smart. Smarter than me, I think sometimes.

              

              

But..

If you dont hear from me for awhile, could somebody come over and peel me off the ground out in back and run me under some water to rehydrate me?

have a great weekend guys!

Sort:  

Where there is a will, there is a way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80